Building a surprise 67 Cuda for my Pops

-

Son2PopsCuda

Reaction score
Hello Mopar pro's, I'm fairly new to this forum. I'm building a surprise 67 Cuda for the greatest man I know, my Pops. I've never done a build before and although I do have mechanical help and am mechanically inclined myself I'd like to get the best of the best in knowledge for this build. This man has sold every muscle car he has owned in order to provide for his family so building this car for him is something I've wanted to since I was a teen. Any and all information is welcomed and appreciated. Now for the car, it is a 67 Barracuda Notchback with a base 273 attached to a 904 tranny mated to a 7 1/4 rear with drums all around for stopping. I got the car for a great price and for the year it is pretty clean, yes it needs work...floor boards, minor body work and some interior work but still a pretty solid car. I'm not trying to put high HP into this especially with a base 273 but I would still like it to be pretty spunky on acceleration, handling and of course stopping
IMG_7147.JPG
. What could I do to improve torque, hp, handling and of course braking without the obvious of swapping motors or having to mortgage off my home in order to successfully achieve my goal. Thank You my new Mopar family for any advice I receive good, bad or indifferent.

Great project. For braking, obviously a power disc brake conversion. Handling, rebuild the suspension and add good shocks and a bigger sway bar. For spunk, upgrade to an 8 3/4" rear axle with gears in the mid to high 3's.

Great project. For braking, obviously a power disc brake conversion. Handling, rebuild the suspension and add good shocks and a bigger sway bar. For spunk, upgrade to an 8 3/4" rear axle with gears in the mid to high 3's.