disc brake conversion kits

-
street/strip....strip only....how much does the car weight?

I have a complete Master Power four wheel disc on my Dart. No complaints.

This

http://www.mpbrakes.com/products/product-detail.cfm?product_id=239

db1303mhpnew_large.jpg

and this

http://www.mpbrakes.com/products/product-detail.cfm?product_id=228

db1300bhpr_large.jpg

I have used the Wilwood vented front disc kit with good results. I combined it with a later model aluminum master cylinder and Wilwood proportioning valve. I believe they have kits for front drum or disc brake equiped A Bodies. It was easy to install.

I think the benefit/hassle ratio is out of whack for 4 wheel disk brake kits.

Its nice to have a rotor to look at through the spokes on the rear wheel, but the actual braking advantage over drums is pretty slim.

I put a stainless steel brakes front kit on my Dart and B-body stuff on the rear and I can take the first turn off at the strip if I want to.

I've got 4 wheel disc brakes from SSBC on my Barracuda. I did the conversion years ago when I was running my nitrous 360. The old drum brakes could barely slow the car down at the end of the 1/4 mile. This was at Bandimere speedway in Colorado where the shut down area is up hill!....scary stuff. I'm happy with the SSBC kit for my street/strip car. The car is faster now, and I can always make the first turn off with ease.

I think the benefit/hassle ratio is out of whack for 4 wheel disk brake kits.

Its nice to have a rotor to look at through the spokes on the rear wheel, but the actual braking advantage over drums is pretty slim.

I put a stainless steel brakes front kit on my Dart and B-body stuff on the rear and I can take the first turn off at the strip if I want to.

Maybe thats true(don't know), but the ease of maint. on discs is so much better. I can't stand drum brakes. They're a pita for maint. and are only used today because car companies are cheap.