Distributor hose routing help

-

Futzy1

Reaction score
Well I think I'm about to show exactly what an auto novice I am, but I've looked and looked, and decided to "suck it up" and take my vacuum advance question to the group. Yes, that was a HORRIBLE pun.

I have a 73 dart custom with 225 slant and all those glorious early emmisions control devices. I went to check the timing, and found that my distributor vacuum line was severed. (Although the car feels like its running fine) when I did a quick search for the routing I found this diagram for 1975 that shows two hoses coming from the distributor. The red hose to the nipple on the air cleaner housing next to the hot air intake, and the black to the vacuum port on the holley 1920 carb,. However mine was only setup the "red route" to the air cleaner.As I said I am a novice at this, and I'm wondering if I'm supposed to have some sort of "t?" Is it routed properly? (Minus the severed hose of course.) Fill me in guys. Is that just a '75 and not a '73 thing? What am I missing here?
20180418_072526.jpg

i would route it to the carb, but then again, i live in a place where you dont have to pass smog test and what not

i would route it to the carb, but then again, i live in a place where you dont have to pass smog test and what not

Not an issue. CA doesn't smog any gasoline vehicles before the model 1975. Honestly its half the reason I buy pre 75 in the first place.

i would put a cap on that line nipple on the air filter and run the vacuum advance to the carburetor

Well I think I'm about to show exactly what an auto novice I am, but I've looked and looked, and decided to "suck it up" and take my vacuum advance question to the group. Yes, that was a HORRIBLE pun.