Electrical "pop" when clutch disengages

-

rednesss

Reaction score
An add on to my other thread, when the Sanden 508 style compressor clutch disengages, I get an electrical "pop" back through the speakers in my car. Is there anything I can do to suppress this electrical surge, like a diode or something in line with the 12V power wire to the clutch? Any electrical engineers out there?

Thanks

A condenser at the power supply connection might do it.
But it might be coming from that switch (right next to the radio)

Hi,

I'm a retired electrical engineer and to answer your question yes, you need a diode. The pop you hear in the radio is the magnetic field of the A/C clutch coil collapsing when it turns off and causing a voltage spike on the 12 volt system. Find a diode with a rating of something like 6 to 10 amps and 100 to 200 PIV or Peak-Inverse-Volts. Connect the bar or cathode end of the diode to the clutch coil connection as close to the clutch as you can get. Connect the anode end to a good ground. Ground ---- >|---- Clutch

Try a Radio Shack if you still have one open around you. If you can't find something locally PM me and I'll send you one.

In answer to your other thread question, OFF should be OFF. The A/C clutch gets its power through the A/C-Heater control panel, through a low pressure cut off switch on the receiver/drier then to the clutch coil. It sounds like something is not wired right or the control panel is broken.

So basically Y in a diode to the single wire running to the clutch, with one end going into the 12v connection, and the other to ground? Paying attention to the orientation of the diode.

As far as I know, the wiring is all original. It goes from the push button controls, down to the evaporator temp controller that cycles the compressor on and off, then out to the low-pressure cutoff switch, then to the clutch.