Feeling crappy...

-

MopaR&D

Nerd Member
Reaction score
Well as some of you may know I'm currently attending my freshman year at UCCS for a Mechanical Engineering degree. I'm taking Calculus 3 and Physics 2 and they're both pretty challenging but today I got really discouraged. This past Friday I took our second Unit Test (Partial Derivatives) in Calc and I thought I did great on it. I studied really hard and when I took the test I answered all the questions easily and completely. But when I got it back today I saw that I got a 72% !!!!! I haven't felt this bad about school since I was a little kid. I've gotten plenty of bad grades in the past but never this bad on something I put so much effort into. I know college isn't a joke like high school was but damn, I had no idea it could be this bad. I hope I can do better on the next test and the final for this class so I don't start off with a low GPA, but I'm not sure yet how exactly I'm going to do that. I'm also scared now as I have no idea how much harder the classes after these are going to be.

Don't let it get you down. If you knew it all, you wouldn't need to go to school right? You are there to learn. Study the returned test, find out what you did wrong and most likely a light bulb will go off. A year or even a few months from now this will all look so easy and you'll wonder how you ever got it wrong. At this stage it's more about the learning process than the content itself. Your professors know this.

Keep the chin up man and keep doing your thing. My classes for my senior year at my high school here are actually pretty hard since I am at a college prep school, so I know the feeling of getting a test back and thinking you did better than what's on the paper. All you can do is keep on goin.