feelings about trade schools?

-

73goldduster

Reaction score
i've been really thinking lately about changing jobs. (careers?) i've been working in a grocery store for more than 11 years, and don't get me wrong, it pays the bills, i get health insurance, retirement funds, etc. however this job is just mind numbingly boring.
since i'm a gearhead i tried to get in at some local shops, but nobody wants to hire somebody with zero shop experience. yea, i've been maintaining and modifying my own and others cars, but that doesn't seem to make any difference to shops.
so i'm thinking about enrolling in wyotech or another school where i can get some shop experience and hopefully some certifications. has anybody had any experiences with these schools? i've heard mixed reviews from the few people i've already talked to.
seems there are lots of hardened pro's and amazing amateurs around here, so how do you all feel? anyone attended? known anyone who has? i need to make a change in my life, and this seems like the way to go...

How old are you and are you married and have children??

I'm 55, attended 2 trade schoold for automotive and diesel. EVERY day my body gets a little more worn out from the beating/banging/hammering/ being a contorsionest, then there are the chemicals/oils I'm always around not to mention the fumes that do eventually damage the brain cells. Don't get me wrong, most days I like my job as a heavy equipment/heavy truck mechanic but it will kill you in the end. Not to mention it sometimes gets hard to get in the mood to go out and work in the garage after you have been doing it 40 plus hours a week already! I used to when I was younger but it seems to get harder all the time.

USE YOUR HEAD, not your back this day and age to make a living!!!!

my .02