Hardest Thing I Have Ever Had to Do

-

1969VADart

Reaction score
I have had some tough experiences including some near death type stuff when I was in the Army, but today I had to do the hardest thing I have ever had to do. I had to tell my 11-year old son that his "Gramps" (my wife's father) passed away. He loved him so much and looked up to him having spent a lot of time with him. He also knew that he was a Vietnam veteran and respected that. The anguish on his face crushed me.

It's part of life. We are born to live and die and continue the flow.

So sorry to hear this. It brought tears to my eyes... I lost my dad this year. It's a tough time that we all have to face someday. The sting of death is never an easy thing. At least there is comfort in knowing your dad is not suffering. Please be assured of my condolences.

Prayers and Condolences. It is always hard for any child to have to face losses of a family member passing on when they are young. Having lost my younger brother when I was 11 and he was 5, I was exposed to the reality and pain of a death at a young age. Unfortunately I saw my brother the morning he passed away as he was already gone and in bed and me and my brothers were trying to wake him up. We woke my Mom up and she immediately knew what happened when she went in to the bedroom. Very sad to even think about it after all these years gone by. Prayers sent.

Condolences to you and your family. Your young man comes from good stock, and i know he'll get thru it with time. I lost two Grandmother's & two Great Grandmothers between the ages of 8 and 10. I was very close to 3 of them and it was tough. As he gets older, he'll be able to reflect on the good times, although short, that he had with his Grandfather. Bless you guys!