Help determining 340 cam

-

CluelessMopar

Reaction score
Okay guys, be kind.... I'm new to engine building/tear down :)

I recently picked up a 340 long block with 10:1 compression and I'm trying to figure out the camshaft to determine what torque converter to run... Before I purchase a dial indicator or remove the timing chain cover to determine the markings I was hoping someone might be able to shed some light on the manufacturer of the cam based on these details:

Engine was assembled about 15 years ago.
Solider lifters
Roller rockers
The gear that makes contact with the helical gear is yellow. (Sorry I don't know what this gear is called on the camshaft)

This might not be enough to go off of, but I know identifying cams in engines can be a little tricky sometime. Previous owner did not know the cam and I'm hoping to find out so I can at least set the valve lash correctly.

Here's a few pictures of the engine if that helps as well.

20220219_121009.jpg

20220219_120254.jpg

Grinders #'s are usually on the front face of the cam.

You can adjust your rockers based on what they are set at right now. Some MAY be looser than others but this method works OK. The milder the idle the closer the clearances are as a rule. Or you can start at .014 and go from there.

You could also pull the cam and have it Cam Doctored to get the real specs. Or ditch the TF and install a 4 speed!

Grinders #'s are usually on the front face of the cam.

You can adjust your rockers based on what they are set at right now. Some MAY be looser than others but this method works OK. The milder the idle the closer the clearances are as a rule. Or you can start at .014 and go from there.

You could also pull the cam and have it Cam Doctored to get the real specs. Or ditch the TF and install a 4 speed!
Just to clarify you're saying .014 is a good reference point to set the valve lash... then adjust more less based on the idle? And that's a cold lash correct?