Help, I need to buy a torque wrench

-

d100clubcab

Reaction score
I want to be able to start torquing bolts to correct specs and my buddy with complete Sanp-On truck moved away so I need my own.

Checked out Sears and they have 3/8 clickable for $80 up to 1/2 digital for $250 or so.

Are clickables more accurate or reliable than manual/gauge ones?

I will be using this for head bolts and valve cover bolts.
Is 3/8 good for this work or is 1/2 better? All my sockets now are 3/8.

Thx

for a refence i work on helicopters for a living so we torque a sh*t load of things

the click ones are considered more accurate b/c the digital ones buzz/vibrate at torque while the old style one break away. people tend to over torque a lot with digital ones

old dial ones are kind of in the same boat.

also are rule is if you drop the old style one it needs to be calibrated again but a digital one doesn't.

and we have them calibrated yearly as it is

price wise. $80 seems reasonable just make sure the range is what your looking for and a general rule is the top of the range and bottom of the range are unusable by the % of accuracy

For head bolts, I would recommend 1/2". The 3/8" is usually inch pounds vs ft/lbs.

I'm getting ready to order a digital myself, I have been looking at some online. Amazon had a couple of good deals. I have heard, no experience, the the Craftsman aren't as accurate as they should be.

I worked in a Metrology lab for a short time. I'd advise an old beam style. If the pointer is on zero it is good to go. I can't tell you how many clicker torque wrenches we threw away because they were out of spec. Of course they were used all day every day. Another word of advise is to get more than one with different ranges, up to 150 ftlb, 120 inlb, etc. If doing smaller fasteners, use the inch pound torque wrench.

For head bolts, I would recommend 1/2". The 3/8" is usually inch pounds vs ft/lbs.