installing harmonic damper

-

KENTON

Reaction score
In the car, I was wondering if it's safe to use a piston stop to keep the crank from turning? Or would it damage the piston or worse break it? I am going to use an installer tool. I don't have a helper to hold the flex plate, so has any one done this.

I usually grease the damper and then hit it with a rubber hammer to get started and it as far as I can on the crank, then use the large vibration damper bolt with an impact wrench to drive it down. It takes a 1 1/4" socket in 1/2" drive.

No need to use a piston stop tool. You may accidentally damage a piston.

Why not use a ring gear holding tool?

It's NEVER a good idea to hit a damper with a hammer, rubber or otherwise. And pulling the damper on with a bolt is risky. I'd rent a proper install tool so you use all of the threads to pull it on.

(I design performance dampers for a living)

It's NEVER a good idea to hit a damper with a hammer, rubber or otherwise. And pulling the damper on with a bolt is risky. I'd rent a proper install tool so you use all of the threads to pull it on.

The motor is in the car, so does the ring gear holding tool stil work?

FWIW, I rotate the crank to just past the bottom of the intake stoke on #1 cylinder, both valves should be closed. Remove #1 spark plug, and feed in about 18" of 1/4" rope. Slowly crank the motor over by hand, it should stop 20-30 degrees before Top Dead Center. Tighten the damper bolt by hand until damper (with pulley) is in the correct location. Reverse rotate engine, remove rope, and you're good to go.

Am I missing something? with a steering wheel puller set rotation is not an issue correct? :violent1:

image_22701.jpg

Am I missing something? with a steering wheel puller set rotation is not an issue correct? :violent1:

image_22701.jpg

I think the OP is trying to install it.

I went through this just the other week. What I did was put a prybar in between the flexplate and the converter.