Is it any good

-

jeffnmo

Just another Mopar Maniac
Reaction score
Hey Guys and Gals, a good friend of mine gave me a brand new Hughes 24-25 stall converter, I have a '70 dart 340 it has a Edelbrock 650 avs, air gap intake, big valve J heads that are ported and polished, Dougs headers, MSD 6 box and a 727 trans with a shift kit, the cam is unknown its pretty lumpy I would guess bigger than a comp 268. It also has a 8 3/4 with 3.23 gears and a worn out cone sure grip, the tires are 235-60-14 that are 25 inches tall, soon I'll be changing to 3.55 gears and 255-60-15's that are 27 inches tall, The car runs like a raped ape but it seems like the stock converter reaches its stall instantly. I know I should have one custom made but ya can't beat free. Do any of you experts think it would be worth a try.

Thanks Jeff

Thanks 69_340_GTS, I'm no expert either, I should also say its street driven only and what is the stock stall for a '70 340, I looked everywhere and couldn't find out.

Thanks Jeff

If the converter you're yanking out is a factory stock converter, and not something that has been rebuilt a couple of times, there should be a paper tag on it. If it has the tag send me a PM and I'll see what I can find out about it for you. As I recall, they stalled around 2000 rpm. My BRAND NEW AT THE TIME 71 340 Duster stalled in that area. When I worked in the converter industry we needed a customers 340 converter core sent in as they weren't the most abundant converter around and were all custom built. Check to make sure the converter is balanced properly. Remember, Mopar had both cast and steel cranks. Hughes will tell you what the converter is actually for.

If what you have is a factory high stall you won't see much difference, IMO.