Is my engine low on vacuum????????????? Help?????

-

duster360

Reaction score
Engine specs first.
340 ci
10.2:1 compression
Edelbrock Rpm heads ( box stock no porting)
Edelbrock Air Gap intake
Holley 650 DP
20-227-4 - Xtreme Hi-lift Hydraulic Flat Tappet Camshafts

What kind of vacuum should I expect with this cam at idle?

My vacuum gauge is showing 7 in. of vacuum at 800 RPM with 14* initial timing. What are your thoughts?

Last edited:
I'm no expert but try a little more initial and see how much it changes. Seems a little low to me.
But the cam is meant to operate 2000 to 6000. Cam degreed in per specs?

add at least 6 more degrees initial and see where it's at. idle speed should increase. reset idle keep adding initial until the vacuum no longer increases, then back off a degree or two.

I'm no expert but try a little more initial and see how much it changes. Seems a little low to me.
But the cam is meant to operate 2000 to 6000. Cam degreed in per specs?

Supposed to be degreed, I had a professional shop build and dyno the engine.

Supposed to be degreed, I had a professional shop build and dyno the engine.

I hate to tell you but the sad fact is there are some shops who don't actually know how to degree a cam.

What do the dyno sheets say? And did they give you a build sheet which shows where the cam was installed?

quit chasing your tail ! get the timing and idle speed up where it wants to be and the vacuum should increase.
It's not the time to question the cam, yet. when there is more in the tune.

I hate to tell you but the sad fact is there are some shops who don't actually know how to degree a cam.

What do the dyno sheets say? And did they give you a build sheet which shows where the cam was installed?
No build sheet. Dyno sheets just have HP and TQ numbers.

Last edited:
Just curious how much hp and torque did you make. I had a slightly similar engine done that made 10" or vaccum at 750 rpm and 14 and 2600