Napa Machine Shops?

-

RustyDusty

Rabid Cross-eyed Opossum!
Reaction score
Anyone have any experience with a NAPA Machine Shop? Good/bad pricing? Also, this is my first time going to a machine shop, do you usually leave your lift chains bolted to the block for the shop, or hows that done?

Thanks!
Drake

I don't think you can make any generalizations about the quality/price of a machine shop just because it is associated with a NAPA parts store. You will need to ask locally of people that have had work done there. Very likely the owner has a NAPA franchise and NAPA will not have any involvement in the machine shop.

As far as the lift chains are concerned leaving them on the block is a good way to lose them.

Machine shops are all over the area when it comes to quality of work. You need to know what you want and then politely question the guy at the shop to see how well he knows what he is doing. And look the shop over-is it clean? Equipment looks to be in good repair? Ask local repair shops were they send their work. Thats about the best you can do until you have a regular place to go.

and find local, satisfied customers. Might have to spend a season at some carshows, dragstrips, etc. Or even ask for a list from the shop. Take this list with a large dose of salt..

all depends on the guy running the equipment & the equipment the shop has. your probably not going to get a racing quality engine out of a re-man type shop....

I have had a LOT of machine work done by a "NAPA" shop. In actuality the shop is an independent business, and the NAPA is an independent (non corporate owned) store.

As others have pointed out, not all shops are created equal, so shop around. Does the shop do a lot of Mopar work? Are they AERA members? Do they sponsor the local track or cars there?

The napa in my town does great work, I take most of my stuff there, but at times they do get backed up.