need to clean my hands for wedding...

-

xwaynestaticx03

Reaction score
i turn wrenches for a living and my hands are pretty much permanently nasty. im in a wedding on saturday and my g/f wants me to get my hands nice and clean. what do any of you guys recommend do get my mits looking respectable in 2 days?

Try Soko brand Solopol cleaner or Zep makes a good one too. I have both in my shop and they work well. Probably have to find vendor in your area on internet.

soak your hands in hot soapy water after using a good garage hand cleaner(atleast 15 to 20 min.), and use a small fairly stiff brush to remove gunk from under the nails. Been there and had to do that too! May take a time or two but they will become a few shades of white cleaner! Good luck!

I use fast orange and a brush from the plumbers supply house. Its a 4-5 inch white handled brush that does wonders and isn't that harsh on your skin.

Try Dawn dish soap a guy from a pile driving contractor said that works good.
Or laundry detergent my furnace guy said he uses that.
I tried WD40 which worked but the grease wasn't really ground in that
bad.

I will give you the best method to get your hands clean. It will get rid of the dirt AND make points!

1. Wash her car top to bottom with Dawn, do the engine compartment and door jambs with laundry detergent and a rag.

2. Do the dishes.

Don't ask how I know of this 'cure'.

You could always buff the crud off with your bench mounted wire wheel:-D

Seriously now, the guys above have given some great tips, and I can only add one more (and MAYBE the most important) .. Go to the pharmacy and pick up a little tube of Aveeno Intense Relief hand cream... Since you're gonna wear your hands out cleaning them, this stuff will make them look and feel great, and it's not that greasy type crap...It's the best stuff I've found so far, and I'd bet good money that your girlfriend will like the way your hands feel as much as you do !!

Have a great time!!

Kenny