new to me 68 Barracuda Conv, sluggish 318

-

nxtdrnaybr

Reaction score
Hi All,

So I just picked up a 68 Barracuda Convertible. I am new to the Mopar world, but to me the engine seems quite sluggish. I am first in the process of changing out all the fluids and starting fresh along with new plugs, carb cleaning.... Next will be to check/set the timing.

Here is what I know about it:
  • the 318 engine(3spd auto) was rebuilt around 1997, about 17k miles since then
  • at the time 340 J heads were put on along with valve job etc, but I can't find any evidence of any porting etc
  • It's got a Edelbrock 318/360 Performer Intake and a Edelbrock 1405 4 barrel carb
  • Dual exhaust. no headers
I am not expecting it to be a speed demon, but it just seems super sluggish. I haven't really laid into it yet since I haven't checked everything out, but what would you check or think might be the culprit for the lack of power?

I know compression may be an issue related to the 340 heads, which I'll get checked, but I would think even with that it should still have more power. It almost feels more like a V6....

1598a.jpg

1598ppp.jpg

Welcome to The Forum and nice car..
Sometimes it can just be a bad combination or a bad tune up... Maybe they put a high performance cam in but didn't change other things like the gearing. Sometimes an extreme highway gear can make these cars seem sluggish..
Along with all your tune up stuff definitely start with your timing first.. sometimes an old spark plug wire can be touching an exhaust manifold and leaking spark.. sometimes things might not have been tightened down in a long time and you can have a vacuum leak which will really mess with you..
sounds to me like you're doing the right thing though just getting all the basics that you would do after buying a used car. Knowing where the fluids are at knowing the last time the tune up stuff has been done.