No kickdown linkage?

-

Shainesboostin

Reaction score
As some may know, I am new here. Just bought a 70 dart, smallblock car. Plan on a magnum swap in near future. However, I'm new to all of this. I realized the car dosent have kickdown linkage at all. Saw a thread saying this is very bad on the trans. Does this mean if I take off in D (drive) the car is actually in 3rd gear? Can I just manually shift it without the kickdown? Educate me please. And yes, I've searched. Came up with conflicting views.

However, the more I read, sounds like.it's gonna burn the trans up. As of now, seems to drive fine as is. If this isn't ok, I have no idea what's going to need done. Kickdown sounds like a nightmare.to deal with. Starting to miss electronically controlled shifts already. Ugh

Would rather just discuss. Here's the car as well...

38291.jpeg

Last edited:
Kick down controls the line pressure and a lack of it will burn your trans in short order . Use either a full manual valve body which doesn't need a kick down or add a lokar after market set up. For now you could temporarliy wire the kick down all the way back.

O boy. Been researching more. Looks like a manual valve body would be best. Im.not even sure what to look for on the trans. This is my first Mopar.

Most A&A auto parts stores carry the lokar cable kits, there not real cheap but they work better then factory ones.

Ive had mine on about 6 years with no problems, but its your dollar.

there are no issues with using a lokar cable, it just needs to be properly adjusted (which, if you install it right and per instructions is real simple)

I would not hesitate to suggest you use one

Most A&A auto parts stores carry the lokar cable kits, there not real cheap but they work better then factory ones.
I believe there is one in the for sale section as we speak, 60 plus shipping

let me ask you this though, how does your shifter look?
stock on the column style or aftermarket ratchet?