Non car people and their crazy fuel saving ideas.

-

J-MacsMopars

Shade Tree Vintage Auto on YouTube
Reaction score
As some of you know, I work as a service advisor at a car dealership. With this position I get to see some crazy things, recently with fuel prices getting higher, people come up with some interesting ideas. Everyone knows the trick of pumping up your tires a few pounds, how ever somepeople take this to an extreme. I have had people in here with their civic with 65+ psi. You try to tell them the damage that it causes and all try can see is that it may save them a buck at the fuel pump. Well today I heard a new one. A guy comes in for an oil change and says he ONLY wants four quarts of oil. Is vehicle requires 5.5 quarts. I tell him that the vehicle requires 5.5 and he declines and says he wants four in there as it is less restrictive and gets better milage. I guess that buck he may save will go towards replacing the engine.

What are some stories you see or hear?

A guy comes in for an oil change and says he ONLY wants four quarts of oil. Is vehicle requires 5.5 quarts. I tell him that the vehicle requires 5.5 and he declines and says he wants four in there as it is less restrictive and gets better milage. I guess that buck he may save will go towards replacing the engine.

thats a good one, what an idiot. should have told him to mix the oil with a little distilled water for less friction lol. ive heard a few, throwing it in neutral when going down hills, shutting the car off at red lights, filling the tank all the way up because the car will burn less fuel with more pressure lol

What a stupid ***. I hope yall wrote on that ticket in bold letters "NO WARRANTY"

One of the best I'd initially heard about was how my friend's grandfather disconnected 3 of the 6 plug wires on his '63 Dart's 170 Slant Six .
Even at age 14 I thought "this has to be a joke ! No one's *that* stupid !".