r&r cluster, now it won't start, need help

-

hinkdart

Reaction score
I should start off by mentioning that I'm a bit of a newbie but I follow directions well and usually don't run into trouble. I left my haynes manual outside and it rained so it is pretty useless until it dries out.

I have a 72 dart swinger, auto on the column. I went online and got directions that stated to drop the column and I did. I removed the 3 bolts that hold the support to the column and removed it ( it wasn't even bolted in the back. I then removed the two smaller bolts that hold the column up to the dash and 2 at the bottom. The column turned to the right and went down a little. Enough so that I was able to let it turn to the right and slide the cluster out with much annoyance.

I've reinstalled everything and now it doesn't start. The car is a bit jury rigged from the previous owners. The radio is powered by a single wire which also powers the tach but they won't turn on even though that wire is connected always hot. Its just a spade connector and I slipped it into the fuse box to both of the fuses that are always hot. The radio also has another power source that must be connected because you can press a button and the time pops up even with the main power not hooked up.

2 fuses are hot all the time and the rest are not powered no matter which position I put the key. The steering column turned to the right and I loosened everything back up and turned it more to the left so it is perfectly plumb. I had the neg battery terminal disconnected so I don't think I popped anything and all the fuses appear to be good, besides I'm not getting power to any except those two.

Also my steering only locks to the right. I can turn it to the left and it locks but allows you to turn left further just not right. Is that normal or did i knock something out doing this "quick" job. Thanks, in advance

Did...........you.........hook.........up.........the............ammeter?