Removing Upper & Lower Ball Joint Studs From Spindle....

-

Les Gibson

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
Since it's Friday and I figure everyone can enjoy a good laugh at my expense, I need some advise/instruction....
I'm prepping my Dart drag car to replace the OEM front suspension/ K frame with one of Tory Shelllehamer's kits. I'm at the point where I'm trying to remove the spindles from the upper and lower ball joints as I will be using my existing spindles with Tory's kit. I also don't want to trash any of the OEM parts and pieces as a buddy of mine wants them. I will admit that after many years of Mopar experience this is my first attempt at OEM suspension removal. I have tried using a pickle fork to no avail. I have removed the torsion bars already along with the shocks and have disconnected the steering.
Can someone who has done this please let me know where I have gone wrong....

Here is one way...........big hammer, in the range of about 3lb mash hammer, also a large drift......back the retaining nut off about half way, turn the spindle full right or left, set the drift up against the spindle in the area of where the ball joint goes thru, give it pretty much a kill shot with the hammer, do this until the ball joint comes out of the spindle, move on to the next ball joint, repeat process

The idea is you are trying to upset the grip of the taper
Hope this makes sense to you

Hit that sucker hard till it falls out.
16476128665964107990992529507689.jpg

This has made it as easy as turning a wrench.....POP! Will this work in your app?
nts%2Fdiesel-discussion%2F105319d1346818331-lower-ball-joint-separator-w123-suspension-tool-1sep.jpg

Just pulled mine off...

Used this. Wear gloves and eye protection because when it "went" it went. The angle of insertion is a bit off as the angle dictates.

Be sure to support the assembly before working it off

Ball Joint Separator.jpg