SLANT 6 a GAS GUZZLER?

-

brandon2701

brandon2701
Reaction score
Howsit you guys my name is Brandon and I live in hawaii and recently bought a 73 dart swinger :D
a very fun ride, though i am new to the engine, because my father has a 70' cuda therefore i've been around more big blocks than small blocks.
How efficient is the slant 6 on gas and is there anyway to increase that efficiency?

pretty efficient on gas, maybe 22-24 mpg?

best gas efficiency and life can be reached on it with a 2bbl and an open exhaust system to quote what Bruce taught me

pretty efficient on gas, maybe 22-24 mpg?

best gas efficiency and life can be reached on it with a 2bbl and an open exhaust system to quote what Bruce taught me

WOW.....im pretty sure my gas gauge is broken then kuz she's getting empty pretty quickly...atleast thats what it is telling me, thanks man.

I think a more typical mileage figure (on a well-worn, non-rebuilt, at best averagely maintained slant6- in other words, almost all of them) would be in the high teens.. say 17 mpg.

Howsit you guys my name is Brandon and I live in hawaii and recently bought a 73 dart swinger :D
a very fun ride, though i am new to the engine, because my father has a 70' cuda therefore i've been around more big blocks than small blocks.
How efficient is the slant 6 on gas and is there anyway to increase that efficiency?

Hey Brandon,

Our 1969 Dart Slant 6 225 Auto, just went to Smokies from around Cincinnati Area (310 miles 1 way) and had an average milage of around 22mpg with a single barrel carb, new air and fuel filters and an oil change. No other tune up parts were used before the trip and the last complete tune up was over 2 years ago!!
This car is single exhaust with a turbo flow muffler.