Soft Peddle

-

parishpbs

Reaction score
I did a complete rebuild of the manual drum brakes on my 67 Dart GT. Wheel, and master cylinder, shoes, drums and rear line.

The rears bleed nice and clear with no air. When I bleed the front it runs clear for maybe 30 seconds and then starts running air bubbles. I have kept the master full and run at least 2 reservoirs of fluid and still get air.

I have tried the vacum, gravity and a pumper methods and still have little or no peddle. When I have another pump the peddle up it runs clear till the peddle hits the floor and then it starts pushing air?

I have checked all of the fittings, pulled drums and found no leaks.

I'm thinking I have a bad Master? It was a re-man

I assume you adjusted the shoes pretty tight. If not, you would have a lot of lost travel. I always bleed with vacuum and my wife slowly pressing the pedal. I usually see bubbles, but they are from outside air sucking past the bleed threads. You can see that even without vacuum from the venturi effect, i.e. the fluid falling down the drain tube sucks a vacuum at the top.

I don't know how a bad MC could entrain air, as long as you keep the reservoir full. Problems would be it either leaks or doesn't build pressure from seal leaks. New MC's can be bad. I had a fairly new rebuilt one fail. Took it apart and found a cut seal because the rebuilder machined the bore and left a sharp edge on the side ports.

Usual reman master its bad I did 5 of these to one car before buying new and fixing the problem.

I don't know how a bad MC could entrain air, .

You can reach a situation (possibley defective residual valve?) where the pedal retracts fast enough that it sucks air in past the rear cup on "rebound."

Thanks so much for your input and feed back. Yes I did bleed the master. I have the shoes adjusted to about 1.5 rotations with tire on, do they need to be tighter?