Tortion Bars and Camber?

-

Hang10Mike

Reaction score
I am a little new to Mopars and tortion bars. My Hang 10 is chewing up front tires from the inside. I see it has negative camber and a friend mentioned tightening the tortion bars to help straighten up the tires? I know the bars are used to tighten up ride and cornering on a unibody, do they also serve to align camber?

if the nose is on the ground then yes it will help...

if your happy with the ride height and it dosn't bottom out then you need to do an alignment to correct the issue...

Torsion bars, which are a type of spring, support the weight of the vehicle and dictate ride height.

Camber is generally adjusted with the upper control arms. The control arms are fastened to the inner fender structure with through bolts that are attached to eccentric cams. The cams adjust the arm in or out which changes camber and caster.

Before you start tweaking things, establish ride height first, then caster, camber and lastly toe. Ride height is adjusted with the torsion bar adjusters.

And obviously you need to fix worn out parts before you perform any alignment procedures. :thumbup:

The higher the front end goes the more negative the camber will become. The upper arm will drop and pull the top in.
But to answer your question directly
do they also serve to align camber?
No. You will have an eccentric (cam) on the upper control arm that does that. There's two of them that adjust camber and caster.

Thank you giys for the advice, it is greatly appreciated! My frontend is actually quite low with the rear up on Super Stock leafs, and I've often wondered if the rake would affect the weight distribution and in turn camber. I was thinking allignment but a friend mentioned tortion bars so I thought I'd ask before goin' nuts on it. I will look at arms first. Thanks again!!!