What type of oil to use ? Was told to use an oil with zinc in

-

jerry6

Banned
Reaction score
it , better for the old non roller cam motors , was told that the cams wear out with newer oils because they contain no zinc , the zinc messed up O2 sensors and other pollution devices .
So what oil do most here use , and any stories of worn cams lifters using modern oil ?

This thread shows up here often with so many versions of the correct answer that the op usually ends up more bewildered than before they asked the question.
So first off I am no expert by any means but have researched this quite a bit. Racing oil such as Brad Penn etc. is just that RACING oil. It's great stuff with the correct amount of zinc for your flat tappet engine, however it wasn't designed to be used for 3 thousand miles between changes. So if you decide to use it change it often. Diesel or heavy duty oil was designed for Diesel engines and thusly has many more detergents and conditioners in it than a gas engine oil has or needs. Besides it doesn't have much zinc and phosphorus any more.
If my engine was broken in I would use a good synthetic oil with an additive such as ZDDP+. GM EOS additive has way less zinc and phosphorus and you would have to add so much that who knows what kind of concoction you now have in your engine. Some say additives don't mix with your oil but they actually do in as far as the additive will not pool in the bottom of your oil pan. They are different size molecules and blend with your motor oil much like 10w30 is a blend of 2 different oils but the 10 and the 30 don't actually separate.
If your engine has less than 1000 miles on it I would use a GOOD conventional oil with an additive such as ZDDP+. You can check out the ZDDP website and get the scientific explanation. I'm no scientist so I got out of it what I could. The cam manufacturers make good additives as well.