Who has the best repro gas tank?

-

krazykuda

FABO Gold Member
How-To Section Editor
Reaction score
We need to get a gas tank and install it for my son's 71 Valiant more door. We need the one with the 4 vent tubes. Who have you used for your tank replacements and how happy were you with them?

Who do you guys recommend buying a gas tank from? Is it worth the extra money for the stainless ones????

I can't speak to a '71 Valiant, but I bought a Spectra for a '64 B-body though Rockauto, and the quality is outstanding! Made in Canada, and the price was reasonable.

I bought a Spectra for my 72 Dart. I think it should last another 40 years. I'm no expert but I'm pretty sure they are a improved quality from the original tanks.

One more vote here for the Spectra tank.
Not one bit of problem in the installation or the function.
Very happy overall, i would buy another one for sure.......

Another vote for Spectra. Three years later and it still looks like new!

Another vote for spectra, I got one for my 67' barracuda and the quality is excellent

Thanks for the suggestions. sounds like Spectra is a good tank, now I just gotta find one...

I looked on their web site and see that they have an outlet in Indiana and Cali. I will have to see if they can help me find one....

Too bad that they are out of stock at 521 restorations....

Are the Spectra sending units any good?

I know about the new lock ring issue and bought a few old style ones, so I should be good there....

Rock auto has the one you need Karl Spectra P/N cr11D it has the four tubes. like 165 or so. It comes with a lock ring also. LOL

Rock auto has the one you need Karl Spectra P/N cr11D it has the four tubes. like 165 or so. It comes with a lock ring also. LOL

Thanks. :D

Yeah, we know about the lock ring.... :banghead:

I'm gonna get a few more from you, let me know when you get them...