1964 Signet 200

-

sshomer

Reaction score
So, I’ve been kicking around on FABO for about a year now and I finally (just before Mopar Nationals) got my car into the shop. To this point the car’s been in storage and I’ve been able to take inventory (the car was a basket when I bought it), do some disassembly, cleaning, painting, and scrounging for parts, advice, and ideas while trying (I’m really new to this) to help friends get a couple of other cars ready for Columbus, OH (see FABO member fourspeed’s “Dirtbag Duster” build).​

The car was someone else’s project that sat untouched for about five years in its current condition, which is pretty damn clean. It’s a ’64 Valiant Signet200, 273, four-speed. Should be a really fun little car.​

It was pretty complete as far as parts go. The motor was fresh out of a shop, but that will get torn down and re-built - Commando style with dual exhaust. The transmission and bell housing were included and an 8 ¾ rear end is in it (the previous owner had a spool in it which will be replaced – the setup will be a cone-type Sure-Grip with 3:23 or 3:55 gears). All of the glass but the windshield came with it and all of the trim was there (minus some insignia, etc.). The dash assembly is pretty solid (some cleaning and refinishing required) but the rest of the interior will be redone from scratch.​

Many thanks to all FABO members who’ve already helped me out. I’ll try to keep posting as the car progresses…hopefully be ready for ‘Nats 2010.​

BROADSIDE AT BRIANS.JPG

DRSIDE30.JPG

PASSIDE30.JPG

COIL-OVERS.jpg

STEERING LINKAGE BEFORE.JPG

ENGINE BAY BEFORE.JPG

DRWW30.JPG

PASSWW30.JPG

PASS FLOOR30.JPG

PASSCPILLAR30.JPG

Looks really solid. Should be a fun little car when completed. Def. keep us updated with pictures.

Nice! Missed you guys tonight - a big project at work had me working a little later than normal. I may be late tomorrow too, but I will make it there one way or another. I can't miss the root beer.