1973 225 valve adjustment help!please!

-

Bulldozer

free ice cream sandwiches
Reaction score
ive owned nothing but hydraulic camshaft engines(318-360-383-400-440) and i now own my first 225 six EVER ! anyway ,the engine is a 225 6 bolted to a 3 speed manual. it has 146,000 on it and it runs fairly well, but after it warms up,it sounds like it is about to come unglued. all the info i can find says that it has solid lifters with adjustable valves.i have never had the valve cover off but i know it to be the original engine. it has plenty of oil pressure and does not smoke or misfire. is this ticking the valves out of adjustment? what is the simplest/best way to adjust the valves and what lash do i set them at? i thank everyone in advance for any info THANKS!

Attachments

• d46.jpg
    94.3 KB · Views: 2,782
hmmmmmm.....i take it nobody has ever adjusted the valves on their 225... interesting

I am a novice at this, but here's what I do:

Remove the valve cover.

Attach a push-button switch to the starter relay so you can "bump" the engine with the starter. You can turn it by hand, with a wrench on the crank bolt (assuming it has one; some apparently don't), but it's tiresome.... even with the spark plugs removed. The pusbutton starter switch is easier.

Pull the wire out of the coil and ground it, so the engine won't try to fire.

With the valve cover removed, you can see the rocker arms and the valve springs. The cylinders are numbered 1 through 6, front-to-rear.

Starting with the forward-most (very first) valve spring/rocker arm, use the pushbutton to turn the engine to the position where the valve NEXT to the first one, (the second one back) is open a good bit(at least, halfway)... you can tell, by the action of the valve-end of the rocker arm.

With that (second) valve somewhat open, you can be assurred that the one you are working on (adjusting) is in the correct position (the lifter on the heel of the cam, not the lobe) to be adjusted.