318 Wolf in Sheep's Clothing

-

M.Rob

Reaction score
Hey, I'm new to FABO and my father told me that I should create a thread to show anyone who's interested in an intriguing 318 build. Our objective was to build a powerful yet economical and efficient Mopar V8 with modern machining and design theory. Now you're probably thinking, "Why a 318? go for a 360". The reason why we chose the 318 was because of its availability and displacement as well as its inexpensive parts. Since this is a Father/Son project, I was on grunt work duty while my father was doing all the important stuff which was figuring out all the numbers that we needed to hit. We finalized on 321ci, 87 octane, 321 hp/350 ft/lbs, 15-16" idle vacuum, 18-20 mpg. So all that's left was to put the project in motion.

Now my job was to strip the whole engine, clean all the parts and prepare them for machining. Unfortunately, I do not have a picture of the engine when we got it, but she was a dirty one! The parts to be reused are; Magnum Heads, Rockers, Block, Crank, Rods, Cam, Retainer Plate, Lifter yolks.

Once the block was stripped we placed it on a bench to be sonic tested. We created our own template to illustrate the areas of thickness in each cylinder. I'm going to apologize for all the sore necks since I cannot figure out how to rotate some of the pictures.

Attachments

• IMG_0023.jpg
    37.4 KB · Views: 1,862
  • IMG_0030.jpg
    37.7 KB · Views: 1,843
  • IMG_0031.jpg
    51.5 KB · Views: 1,865