Any recommendations for building a '73 340?

-

Shane65

Reaction score
Hey guys,

So I finally took the plunge.. I'm gonna swap out the 273 in my 65 barracuda with a 340..

This is my first build so I have a lot of questions..

With the '73 being the smog friendly version of the 340, I know I'll have to do a little more work to it than the earlier 340's.

I'm wanting to get to about the 400+ hp mark / 350 to the wheels.. I want to keep it steetable.. fast and fun but still dependable..

I have the 587 heads, trying to figure out if I should keep them or sell them and buy x heads. Ive read mixed opinions ion the 587's... Seems some people prefer to keep the valves stock size 1.88 but use the sst mopar valves.. vs going with 2.02 intake valves.. Thoughts?

I'll probably run the eddy air gap intake, keep the stock crank, and bump the compression up a little, just not sure which pistons and cam to run..?

Also should not sure if I should run stock 340 exhaust manifolds or spring for some headers.. Not sure the best route for power and fit in a 65 barracuda..

I guess I should also mention my budget is between 2-3 grand... So, is there a tried and true formula for building a later 340 to a steetable 400 hp

Everything is more expensive for the 340. A 318 or 360 would be cheaper to hit your HP range. I believe the K member will need swapped for the 340, but I'm not an expert.

Also, will your tranny and rear handle the extra HP/TQ?

Everything is more expensive for the 340. A 318 or 360 would be cheaper to hit your HP range. I believe the K member will need swapped for the 340, but I'm not an expert.

Also, will your tranny and rear handle the extra HP/TQ?

I've done a little bit of reading on the subject, I believe the 340 bolts right in with a some modification to the passenger side mount... I have the 4 speed a833, and a 8 3/4 rear on the way...

I came across a 340 for a good price, and like the idea of a hi revving v8... Keeping it for sure.

Hey guys,