Can a 273 crank be balanced to 340 specs ?

-

Kern Dog

Build your car to handle.
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
I was told that since these cranks share the same rod and main journal size and stroke, a 273 forged crank can be balanced to fit a 340.
I have never tried this.
I have a friend that had a 340 built at a shop and the engine developed a spun rod bearing at less than 100 miles. I helped with the teardown, it has a severely grooved crank. I told him that I have a 273 crank he can use BUT I need to know if it can even work.
The forged 340 cranks seem to have that drilled section on the 1/2 and 7/8 rod journals. Can a 273 crank me modified like that to work? If not, what else needs to be done?

I am no expert, but I dont see why it wouldent work. All depends on what it spins up like on the balancer with the Bob weights clamped on to simulate the 340 piston, rod, and ring weights. That's gonna determine where it will need to be drilled and lightened, or have Mallory added to it to balance it to your application. But assuming like you said , stroke, and rod, and main journal sizes are the same as a 340, and providing it can be balanced to your other rotating assembly parts, it should work. I know your mentioning forged, but even a 318 cast crank would fit and work for that matter, it has the same stroke as a 273 and 340, though you are looking at the forged 273 because of durability

Last edited:
Of course it can. I've always wanted to build a 340 with the smaller 273 connecting rods. Would probably rip it up.

I can’t remember who posted it, but he said back in the day when he was poor and used what he had, he installed a 273 crank in a 340. No balance job - just installed and go. Maybe he (and possibly others who’ve actually done this) will see this thread and comment.