Crosswind air gap clone and ram truck serpentine setup

sport74

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
439
Reaction score
102
Location
Anderson sc
Okay guys I've got a crosswind AKA air gap clone that I've put on my 408 stroker which is Magnum based. I went to put the air conditioner and alternator bracket on and the bracket is hitting on the air conditioner side on a boss on the intake. It also looks like it will be hitting on the thermostat housing as well once I remove the boss. I'm wondering if any of you have had this issue before and what you did to fix it I'm trying to retain the factory Serpentine setup without doing a bunch of major modifications and worrying about pulley alignment and things like that. My plan is right now used to grind down the boss on the intake maybe drill and tap it for a bracket if need be later on but to cut one corner off of the AC bracket and Run 3 bolts on the compressor. Let me know if any of y'all have done this or have done anything different to make this work any help is greatly appreciated thanks so much.

IMG_20170826_134138.jpg


IMG_20170826_134150.jpg
 

67Dart273

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2010
Messages
57,058
Reaction score
29,029
Location
Idaho
I say cut the bracket, run 3 bolts, and if you are "iffy" fab up a strap brace to go from one rear bolt over to someplace on the manifold.
 

jos51700

Green Bearing thread connoisseur
Joined
May 24, 2009
Messages
6,911
Reaction score
2,515
Location
Bel-Ray
I had to go van Gogh mode on mine.

I'm not entirely sure you can fit the compressor on there with that intake. I hadda run the compressor surrogate idler wheel on my car because the compressor wouldn't fit, and want to switch to an ac Compatible efi intake in the future.

That said, I don't know where you got that filler neck, but without the retainer lip, the upper radiator hose is not positively retained and will likely blow off when the cooling system pressurizes at temperature.
 

sport74

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
439
Reaction score
102
Location
Anderson sc
@jos51700 can you upload some pics of your setup showing why the compressor won't fit? It appears to have plenty of room for the compressor once modified, but maybe the mods are what prevents it from fitting? Just trying to figure out what's ahead of me. And your right about the thermostat housing. It was a new one and I noticed that when I took it out of the box
 

rumblefish360

I have escaped the evil Empire State!
FABO Gold Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2005
Messages
45,806
Reaction score
18,668
Location
Florida
FWIW, there is a intake manifold threaded hole under the A/C bracket that needs a Allen key plug to sit at least flush with them intake manifolds surface in order to seat the A/C compressors bracket down.

I posted a set of 4 shots of it installed. Just for reference. See the Edelbrock site or summit for perhaps a better picture of the intake alone for reference.

I can post more for anyone that would like anshot not included except the bracket off. LOL IM NOT disassembling the engine front.

Provisions for all the A/C braces are there.
IMG_0787.JPG
IMG_0789.JPG
IMG_0790.JPG
 

jos51700

Green Bearing thread connoisseur
Joined
May 24, 2009
Messages
6,911
Reaction score
2,515
Location
Bel-Ray
The intake I had was a Moderately early version, installed around '07. I can't supply photos, I've since traded it off to another member on this site that lived in Carl Junction, MO.

The compressor had a space time conflict with the water housing neck and, I believe, possibly maybe an intake runner, but I got rid of that setup five years ago since I was 200 miles away from the car trying to work on it.

Van Gogh is an artist, famous for lopping off his own ear attributable to either drinking absinthe, dropping hallucinogens, a sword fight with a friend, or just general nuttiness. He supposedly gave the severed piece to a hooker; that's the important part.
 

zombywoof

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2014
Messages
448
Reaction score
192
Location
chicago
Van Gogh is an artist, famous for lopping off his own ear attributable to either drinking absinthe, dropping hallucinogens, a sword fight with a friend, or just general nuttiness. He supposedly gave the severed piece to a hooker; that's the important part.

so thats hooker headers was born:D
 

mopardart44067

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 21, 2012
Messages
509
Reaction score
13
Location
visalia,ca
How do you like the intake.thats the one I'm going to get.its only $200 shipped that's half price of edelbrock.
 

sport74

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
439
Reaction score
102
Location
Anderson sc
I haven't had a chance to run it. Once everything is together and running I will let you know. It seems like a decent piece and had both mounting patterns ( Magnum and LA) also comes with plugs for the set of holes not used. Clearance on the bracket is the only issue thus far.
 

75slant6

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Joined
May 15, 2011
Messages
6,098
Reaction score
2,714
Location
Russellville, ky
@sport74 were you able to get this to work? I’m seriously considering having injector bungs welded to my Assault (same as crosswind) intake and add the factory efi and accessories this coming winter and would really like to have ac.
 

sport74

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
439
Reaction score
102
Location
Anderson sc
Unfortunately, I found out the hard way that the account compressor will not work with this intake. The thermostat housing and compressor want to occupy the same space
 

67Dart273

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2010
Messages
57,058
Reaction score
29,029
Location
Idaho
How about something like a modified stat housing? Is there ANY room between the two? I guess I'm going to have to "dig out" one of the magnums and rig it up to see what we all are up against
 

75slant6

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Joined
May 15, 2011
Messages
6,098
Reaction score
2,714
Location
Russellville, ky
Unfortunately, I found out the hard way that the account compressor will not work with this intake. The thermostat housing and compressor want to occupy the same space
Well darn. Guess I’ll just use the barrel intake then if I switch to efi
 

sport74

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
439
Reaction score
102
Location
Anderson sc
I'll try to get a picture of it tomorrow. The passenger side of the compressor at the back has maybe 1/16th of an inch clearance to the Tstat housing with no hose on it. I have heard that the real Edelbrock rpm will allow for the AC compressor. The Tstat is offset on it
 

Bobzilla

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2017
Messages
1,357
Reaction score
1,101
Location
Southeast Michigan
The Edelbrock Magnum intake has thermostat in the correct Magnum position, as others have said.
If going with factory fuel injection, still using Magnum heads, go for the Hughes Air Gap manifold, if the budget allows. It is just an Edelbrock Air Gap cast specifically for Hughes by Edelbrock. It costs a little more, but it also has the thermostat housing in the correct Magnum position, already has injector bungs drilled, comes with gasksts, and comes with the two barrel adapter needed to run the factory throttle body. The brackets for mounting the factory fuel rails look terrible, but they work, and you can use the air conditioning compressor from the Magnum engine along with serpentine setup.
 

JoesEdge

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2013
Messages
1,103
Reaction score
280
Location
Downey, CA
FWIW, there is a intake manifold threaded hole under the A/C bracket that needs a Allen key plug to sit at least flush with them intake manifolds surface in order to seat the A/C compressors bracket down.

I posted a set of 4 shots of it installed. Just for reference. See the Edelbrock site or summit for perhaps a better picture of the intake alone for reference.

I can post more for anyone that would like anshot not included except the bracket off. LOL IM NOT disassembling the engine front.

Provisions for all the A/C braces are there.
View attachment 1715086936 View attachment 1715086937 View attachment 1715086938

Well, will you be replacing that bracket with the one I just sent you? Then you can take pictures of the process. You're going to see how damn easy it is to put the non-AC alternator bracket. It's a 15 minute job if you're slow.
 

rumblefish360

I have escaped the evil Empire State!
FABO Gold Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2005
Messages
45,806
Reaction score
18,668
Location
Florida
Engine is being dismantled now....
It’ll be awhile...
I’m slow.... to many other things in the way of actually getting things done quick.
 

JoesEdge

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2013
Messages
1,103
Reaction score
280
Location
Downey, CA
Engine is being dismantled now....
It’ll be awhile...
I’m slow.... to many other things in the way of actually getting things done quick.

I may be there soon too. I have a stripped threads in my timing chain cover which is weaping coolant. So I may have to dismantle the front to fix that.
 
Top