filler neck modification

-

kielbasavw

Reaction score
Many of us know about the dreaded filler neck angle in early valiants and probably others (i own a 65 valiant) that does not work with todays pumps, forcing us to hold at 45-90degrees. I know there is a company that will modify tubes (name excapes me) for what I remember to be a rediculous amount of money.

Today I scored a filler neck from another 65 that was in the local junk yard. Does anyone know modify them to work like they should? Possibly pictures? I'm a welder and metal fabricator by trade so this is right up my alley. I was thinking of inserting a washer like plate that has an ID just a bit bigger then the OD of the pump. And down further was thinking of using some screen (expanded metal) and roll it to be a little smaller then the tube itself to act as a baffle. Any suggestions or experience on this subject?

When I bought my 66 Dart the filler neck had already been modified.I believe they cut the tube 1/2 way down and welded on a later(72-73)bottom 1/2 tube.It worked as I never had a overflow problem filling gas up.My 2 cents.
Not sure if you can see it in pic.
View attachment trim 022.jpg

You know,there could be I didn,t look.LOL I just cut the filler end off with cap as I installed a fuel cell(race car now)I wanted to maintain the twist part that holds the cap at the 1/4 panel.I do know there was some type of metal hanging out the tube when I pulled it out.I,d have to go look.

I think Laysons use to offer a modification of some sort...

Many of us know about the dreaded filler neck angle in early valiants and probably others (i own a 65 valiant) that does not work with todays pumps, forcing us to hold at 45-90degrees. I know there is a company that will modify tubes (name excapes me) for what I remember to be a rediculous amount of money.