FITECH EFI TUNING tips, info sharing, ideas, settings, etc...

Discussion in 'Fuel and Air Systems' started by 71duster06, Jul 10, 2016.

  1. 71duster06

    71duster06 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    West Michigan (GR)
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    11:36 AM
    Now that a decent number of members have purchased a FiTech unit I thought it would be nice to have a common thread where we could discuss specific tuning / adjustments that we have made along the way. Yes this unit is pretty darn close out of the box but I think all of us have made some alterations to work out any quirks specif to our motors. Anyways, I saw the following breakdown on a Mustang forum and thought it was a neat concept. Feel free to use the following to copy and paste so we have common formate. something like this would be helpful for anyone considering this for their Mopar too.

    ENGINE SIZE:
    FITECH SETUP USED:
    ENGINE VACUUM:
    CAM SETTING (1,2,3, or 4) AND YOUR CAM SPECS:
    IAC COUNTS @ idle and cruise
    TIMING CONTROL: Y/N?
    IDLE RPM:
    TARGET IDLE AFR:
    ANY ADJUSTED PARAMETERS AND WHY?:
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • rednesss

      rednesss FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      1,382
      Likes Received:
      96
      Joined:
      Mar 4, 2006
      Location:
      Eugene, OR
      Local Time:
      8:36 AM
      I'm interested in this as well. I will post up my information shortly.
       
    • LJ67barracuda340

      LJ67barracuda340 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      350
      Likes Received:
      157
      Joined:
      Mar 5, 2012
      Location:
      Ontario
      Local Time:
      11:36 AM
      mines not running yet,,, but I'm in!!!!!!!
       
    • 71duster06

      71duster06 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      603
      Likes Received:
      32
      Joined:
      Jan 23, 2008
      Location:
      West Michigan (GR)
      View My Photos
      Local Time:
      11:36 AM
      No bites on this one yet?
       
    • 72Duster440

      72Duster440 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      292
      Likes Received:
      43
      Joined:
      Aug 2, 2010
      Location:
      Sterling Heights, MI
      Local Time:
      11:36 AM
      I was hoping this thread would take off too, I was thinking of creating the same thing. Next time I'm out in the garage I will grab the settings that I changed and enter them on here. For now everything is working great, I had a hot restart stumble, but it appears to have tuned itself out.
       
    • ken5124

      ken5124 65 Valiant Signet

      Messages:
      624
      Likes Received:
      81
      Joined:
      Feb 18, 2007
      Location:
      Winnipeg, Manitoba
      View My Photos
      Local Time:
      10:36 AM
      I ll start!! Installed last August.

      ENGINE SIZE: 318 30 over
      FITECH SETUP USED:Go 4 Power adder, FCC for fuel supply.
      ENGINE VACUUM: 15 inches at idle
      CAM SETTING (1,2,3, or 4) AND YOUR CAM SPECS: 2 212/218 duraction at 50
      IAC COUNTS @ idle and cruise 7 at idle, cruise.. will add later
      TIMING CONTROL: Y/N? Yes, with MSD 6AL, using Mopar performance distributor , Mallory style guts. Base 14, Idle 21 degrees, cruise 39, WOT 33.9 degrees
      IDLE RPM: 840
      TARGET IDLE AFR: 13.55
      ANY ADJUSTED PARAMETERS AND WHY?: where to start.... Upped all accel parameters, regular and fast accel, to get rid of lean spikes . DFCO cutout and return moved down to almost 20 and 24 respectively, ( to reduce decel backfiring through the pipes), Loop up and down at 33 each, ( to aid in quick return to idle) FCC low power reduced to 38.6 %( runs much cooler now).

      Had issues with my o2 sensor wiring, self inflicted.. set wires up to tight to the firewall, damaging some lines ( seems better now that I got some slack at the throttle body--- we will see ) If o2 sensor wiring affected it will throw code 105 and 134. 105 fault will display until sensor is hot BTW) Replacement sensor Bosch 17014, if you need.
       
      • Thanks! Thanks! x 3
      • cuda_roller

        cuda_roller Mopar rookie

        Messages:
        48
        Likes Received:
        1
        Joined:
        Oct 21, 2015
        Location:
        san diego
        Local Time:
        8:36 AM
        Ok, here's my set up. I've been working on it off and on. Currently, I'm having an issue with cold starts (same when it was on carb), spray some starting fluid, and it starts/runs...

        ENGINE SIZE: 273
        FITECH SETUP USED: Go EFI 4 600hp
        ENGINE VACUUM:
        CAM SETTING (1,2,3, or 4) AND YOUR CAM SPECS:
        IAC COUNTS @ idle and cruise
        TIMING CONTROL: Y/N? No
        IDLE RPM:
        TARGET IDLE AFR:
        ANY ADJUSTED PARAMETERS AND WHY?:

        I'll fill in the rest when it's running well.....
         
      • 71duster06

        71duster06 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        603
        Likes Received:
        32
        Joined:
        Jan 23, 2008
        Location:
        West Michigan (GR)
        View My Photos
        Local Time:
        11:36 AM
        I will be running the car at the drag strip soon to compare how it runs now vs the previous thermoquad. Once I have those times I am going to swap intakes as I traded a friend for an RPM air gap so I can shed some light on the LD340 vs Air Gap intake comparison. EFI should allow for a true performance comparison I would think.

        ENGINE SIZE: 340 (4-speed with 3.23s, LD340)
        FITECH SETUP USED: Go EFI 4 600hp
        ENGINE VACUUM: I will look at this next time driving the car
        CAM SETTING (1,2,3, or 4) AND YOUR CAM SPECS: (3) Lunati Cam 60403
        IAC COUNTS @ idle and cruise: I will look at this next time driving the car
        TIMING CONTROL: Y/N? Yes, but I have another ready to run Pertronix Flamthrower III dizzy that I want to try as well. I will then determine which ignition setup I like best
        IDLE RPM:850rpm
        TARGET IDLE AFR: 13.6
        ANY ADJUSTED PARAMETERS AND WHY?: No adjustments yet, will fine tune once I determine what ignition route I stay with. I do have the slight popping in the exhaust on decal which can be adjusted out. I will also slow the throttle to idle speed as the motor cut out a couple times when I pressed the clutch coming up to a stoplight. Minor adjustment again.
         
      • ken5124

        ken5124 65 Valiant Signet

        Messages:
        624
        Likes Received:
        81
        Joined:
        Feb 18, 2007
        Location:
        Winnipeg, Manitoba
        View My Photos
        Local Time:
        10:36 AM
        Update: Changed dfco cutout and return to 32 and 35 respectively.. Got some advice from a guy on the Chevelle forum ( fitech info). The decel backfiring in the exhaust is from having too much fuel when backing off the throttle.. seems to have worked well. It now cuts the fuel out earlier.

        Took the side of the throttle body off last night to check my o2 sensor wiring, yes, was still having some fault codes 134 and 105. Checked continuity of the 5 wires in that harness and Could not find any visual issue.
        Fitech apart.jpg


        The wires that exit out the back,travel along where the red line is, a channel on the throttle body. They were bunched downward close to the linkage as shown in the red circle and i "think" under hard throttle the linkage may have been pulling the wires a bit. I didn't find any cuts or anything but who knows? Seems the wire was very close to part of the throttle linkage, so i repositioned it. Will see if that fixes the glitch.. Undid the four bolts holding the ecu in place on the front and moved the plate out a 1/4 inch, but there is no way I will be able to take it right apart. If my o2 sensor keeps throwing the code, it will have to get sent back to California for them to check. :( That will have to wait until winter.

        Also adjusted the secondary linkage a wee bit, as the secondary's were not moving at the exact time the primary were.

        It will go back on tomorrow and see if I put it back together correctly LOL

        Ken
         
      • ken5124

        ken5124 65 Valiant Signet

        Messages:
        624
        Likes Received:
        81
        Joined:
        Feb 18, 2007
        Location:
        Winnipeg, Manitoba
        View My Photos
        Local Time:
        10:36 AM
        well no luck.. codes are pretty well constant.. I was unable to get the codes cleared no matter how much fiddling i did. even got a new fault code a 53 and occasionally a 36.
        Waiting for my RMA to ship the Throttle body back for assessment/repairs. Dam!
         
      • SalC

        SalC Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        132
        Likes Received:
        27
        Joined:
        Jul 7, 2014
        Location:
        Downers Grove, IL
        Local Time:
        10:36 AM
        Trying to get some idea of inlet air temperatures, what temps are you guys seeing with your systems? My engine compartment is pretty tight with a 383 stuffed in there, the air cleaner is riding tight up against my hood. Wondering if re-positioning wouldn't be a bad idea, something like a cold air intake type system. It's been a pretty hot summer in the midwest this year.

        Thanks...
         
      • 71duster06

        71duster06 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        603
        Likes Received:
        32
        Joined:
        Jan 23, 2008
        Location:
        West Michigan (GR)
        View My Photos
        Local Time:
        11:36 AM
        Here is a good video regarding the IAC adjustments for this unit as well. Non mopar but still a good reference.

         
        • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
        • 71duster06

          71duster06 Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          603
          Likes Received:
          32
          Joined:
          Jan 23, 2008
          Location:
          West Michigan (GR)
          View My Photos
          Local Time:
          11:36 AM
          Mine is typically a little bit higher than outside air temp but I have a sealed six pack hood on my duster. When I changed from the original steel hood and open element air cleaner the car had a noticeable improvement in overall engine response. I'm sure I was in the mid 100s of intake temp prior. There are some good threads on the intake/air cleaners too
           
        • rdakota340

          rdakota340 Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          275
          Likes Received:
          19
          Joined:
          May 16, 2010
          Location:
          Heart Of Fla.
          Local Time:
          11:36 AM
          I got 1200 power adder it's installed waiting on my o2 extension because I have a rear mount set up I will let you know how it goes after Wednesday. I have been reading a lot LOL!
           
        • SalC

          SalC Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          132
          Likes Received:
          27
          Joined:
          Jul 7, 2014
          Location:
          Downers Grove, IL
          Local Time:
          10:36 AM
          No issues so far, running great. Very happy. Peels the pavement from a dead stop :). Running about a week and a half so far, burned a tank and a half of gas. Gathers interest at the cruise nights I've been to this week, lots of lookers and questions asking about it.

          ENGINE SIZE: 383 - 2800 stall - manual shift rev valve body - 4.11 gear
          FITECH SETUP USED: Go EFI 4 600hp
          ENGINE VACUUM: 8.5-9" (Idle)
          CAM SETTING (1,2,3, or 4) AND YOUR CAM SPECS: 2 Edelbrock #7194 238/246 duration at 50
          IAC COUNTS @ idle and cruise: idle 9-10, cruise TBD
          TIMING CONTROL: Not yet
          IDLE RPM: 880
          TARGET IDLE AFR: 13.6
          ANY ADJUSTED PARAMETERS AND WHY?: Fast Accel settings (all 3) ~26 - very slight hesitation while rolling with a quick stomp on the pedal
           
          Last edited: Aug 15, 2016
          • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
          • 71duster06

            71duster06 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            603
            Likes Received:
            32
            Joined:
            Jan 23, 2008
            Location:
            West Michigan (GR)
            View My Photos
            Local Time:
            11:36 AM
            When you adjusted the IAC did you only use the front screw or did you adjust the front and back at the same time?
             
          • SalC

            SalC Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            132
            Likes Received:
            27
            Joined:
            Jul 7, 2014
            Location:
            Downers Grove, IL
            Local Time:
            10:36 AM
            The back one (secondaries) was backed off all the way, from what I read it's supposed to be. I only adjusted the front screw...
             
          • 71duster06

            71duster06 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            603
            Likes Received:
            32
            Joined:
            Jan 23, 2008
            Location:
            West Michigan (GR)
            View My Photos
            Local Time:
            11:36 AM
            Made a few IAC adjustments and felt a noticeable bottom end improvement. My previous IAC was very high so I adjusted and set a factory reset. So far its running well.

            IMG_9804.JPG
             
          • 67Dart273

            67Dart273 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            37,365
            Likes Received:
            5115
            Joined:
            Oct 14, 2010
            Location:
            Idaho
            View My Photos
            Local Time:
            8:36 AM
            LMAO!!! I guess so!!

            peel.JPG
             
          • SalC

            SalC Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            132
            Likes Received:
            27
            Joined:
            Jul 7, 2014
            Location:
            Downers Grove, IL
            Local Time:
            10:36 AM
            I too was running a very high IAC count, I just calibrated mine but haven't been out driving since I did. I'm curious to see if there is a difference. I've noticed the idle is back down to around where I was when I had the carb on.
             
          • subcom

            subcom Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            1,122
            Likes Received:
            263
            Joined:
            Sep 17, 2010
            Location:
            South Florida
            View My Photos
            Local Time:
            11:36 AM
            Little thread bump for a great thread idea.

            Just got my FiTech 1200. Still missing a few pieces before starting it up but will report back here with my tune. Mine is a 360 single turbo on E85. Haven't found much on the interwebs as far as parameters for a similar tune, so I might be a guinea pig.

            image.jpeg
             
          • rdakota340

            rdakota340 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            275
            Likes Received:
            19
            Joined:
            May 16, 2010
            Location:
            Heart Of Fla.
            Local Time:
            11:36 AM
            Yes sir I like mine and you will too I've only drove mine about 20 mile and it's seen boost already.
             
            • Like Like x 1
            • Wilson0208

              Wilson0208 Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              84
              Likes Received:
              3
              Joined:
              Sep 25, 2014
              Location:
              Missouri
              View My Photos
              Local Time:
              10:36 AM
              Anyone running a radical (290 duration) cam with the Fitech? I've got a Lunati Bracketmaster II in my 340 auto. Looking into this EFI to make mine behave on the steets a little better. Lots of stalling on hard stops and constant idle adjustments.
               
            • ken5124

              ken5124 65 Valiant Signet

              Messages:
              624
              Likes Received:
              81
              Joined:
              Feb 18, 2007
              Location:
              Winnipeg, Manitoba
              View My Photos
              Local Time:
              10:36 AM
              Morning! Expecting my Throttle body back this week. They have replaced the ECU with all included wiring, tested it out and given me a 6 month extension on my warranty. They advised the new ECU's have heavier guage wiring on the 6 wire connector than the original I bought last summer.

              Word of warning regarding the wiring and harnesses. I took a chance and attempted to find my own wiring problems which were causing o2 sensor fault codes.. I cut 1 wire by mistake.. I had also cut off the fitech distributor 2 wire connector to wire in my mopar 2 wire distributor.

              Cutting off the harness or cutting a wire by mistake VOIDS your warranty. The new ECU cost me 335 installed, US Funds.. After shipping and Canadian Conversion, my " venture" cost me 488 Canadian.

              Lesson learned.. Still can't wait to get it hooked back up and running again.. Especially since I was dealing with the o2 sensor codes since last fall.
              Ken
               
            • pishta

              pishta I know I'm right....

              Messages:
              12,707
              Likes Received:
              2614
              Joined:
              Oct 13, 2004
              Location:
              Tustin, CA
              View My Photos
              Local Time:
              8:36 AM
              Whay are you guys running such a rich Idle at 13.5? Would it not be better to run a slight lean idle like 15:1? curious.