Help me put "587" heads on a 318

-

Shane65

Reaction score
Looking for some advice on this setup.. I have some heads from a '73 340 that have been laying around in my garage for a while, and want to put them on my 318 that's in my '68 barracuda.. I've done quite a bit of reading on this, sounds like I need to mill 40 to 50 thousandths off the bottom of heads to raise the compression... the heads could probably also use a freshening, some have recommended stainless valves.. I want to do what's best, but also I'm on a pretty tight budget.. I'm fairly new to engine work especially with mopars, so what should I tell my machine shop to make this happen without breaking the bank?

Depends on what you are doing....daily driver, weekend racer or ?

I raced with stock valves for 20 years before aftermarket parts arrived on the scene...

If your stock valves are good use them... I'd have your shop take a close look at the guides and seats. Buy new springs and have the rockers disassembled and cleaned/checked.

The last set of j heads I had done cost me $718.00 out the door. New stainless valves, bronze guides, springs, retainers, locks, angle mill for compression...the works.

Those heads will lower compression a little, but I would not mill them to get the compression up.... You will get increased performance with the better flow/larger ports...

If you want to keep compression up, then I would recommend using a 66 or 67 273/318 head with closed chambers to increase the compression a bit... I am doing this right now on a 72 318... With 360 heads, it is at 7.6 compression, and with the -920 heads and .040" head gasket brings us up to 8.6 compression... I had 360 valves installed (1.88" intake and 1.60" exhaust) and the heads ported...

Or if you want to get the compression up with the 360 head, install a set of 10.5 compression 318 pistons with a 360 head and a .065" fel pro gasket will give you 9.2 compression...