maximize shift points

-

Mopar to ya

Reaction score
I am looking to maximize my shift points the next time I hit the track. I hit my best torque at 3900 to 4900 rpm. I had been winding to 6000 before shifting, but I wonder if I should shift sooner and use the torque to pull me faster. Being a novice, I am open to opinions. What do you all think? Here are my dyno specs. I am very curious to hear the responses.

View attachment Dyno specs (567x800).jpg

gearing ...converter flash ...tire diameter?

looking at your dyno sheet 12.0 to 1 compression..and Champion RC12YC plugs...need a colder plug...

generally you need to go thru a shift loop...trial and error is the only way to figure out where to shift at...

What you do is, you take either the HP curve or the accelleration (G) curves and plot them FOR EACH GEAR. You shift where the crossover happens IE when 1st runs out of steam and 2nd "comes on" that point will cross in the graph.

Once you have a HP curve for something specific such as high gear, you can use gearbox ratios to scale the other gears

I'm having trouble finding a www example

This one is G's vs speed. The crossings are obvious in this plot

fz6r_acceleration_all_gears.png

Here's what we are looking for:

http://www.golfmk6.com/forums/showthread.php?t=29023

What he did in the graph below is took the engine torque curve and constructed individual curves based on the gear ratios in the gearbox.

4thgearshiftpoint.png

Yet another. This one plots each gear's torque at the driveshaft with MPH. You can easily convert mph to RPM, and once again, the shifts are at the crossover points

This clearly shows why you do not shift "at max torque," but rather, when torque in the present (lower gear) falls to a lower value than the torque in the next higher gear could produce.

Rimpul4.gif