Motor Trend/Hotrod article: 1972 Scamp restomod by Pure Vision

-

MRGTX

Reaction score
This one caught my eye this morning. Does anyone know this car or the owner?

I have no prior knowledge of Pure Vision but they did a super nice job (in my subjective opinion) on setting up this Scamp.
It's a stroker small block, 727 trans, 8.75" rear end...and they RETAINED the torsion bar suspension. Once I read that last part, I knew I would probably agree with a lot of the decisions made on this car. :)

I love the lights in the bumper, the very subtle duck tail spoiler, the integration of the Air Grabber hood. All very well done...the drop spindles were probably ill advised from a performance perspective but the stance of the car is extremely nice.

What do you guys think?

Pure Vision Transforms a 1972 Plymouth Scamp With Cool Mopar Mods

1671213975234.png

I have no prior knowledge of Pure Vision
Pure Vision was Started in the 90's. Steve Strope owner.When I knew him he was a one man shop. He has come along way.
I met Steve on the 97 Hot Rod Power Tour and ended up working with him on 2 of my own cars and I bought a 66 Charger from him too.I supplied a few cars his customers were looking for. Later we did several more of his customer cars. Last for me was around 2005-6.
He has some great Ideas.

Last edited:
Steve's Pure Vision shop is located in SoCal.
The shop's display is a regular at the Grand National Roadster Show and always has some great rides.

Nice looking car!

I didn’t see where they said what size the torsion bars are. They look bigger than stock, but unless they’re bigger than 1” diameter they would need the drop spindles to sit that low. Although yeah, you can go 1.12” with the bars and lose the drop spindles and have better suspension geometry. The limiting factor is the height of the inner fenders at that point, and drop spindles don’t fix that.

This one caught my eye this morning. Does anyone know this car or the owner?