My first e85 experience.

-

flyfish

C8H18+N2O = :-D
Reaction score
I posted these results in another thread, but I thought I should probably put the long winded version in its own thread.

I have been considering a bigger carb for a few years now, but was just not sure I wanted to take the plunge since friends of mine had gone bigger and saw no gain. So, instead I decided to take my money and convert my carburetor over to e85. My carb started out as a Holley 650dp, but I swapped out the main body for a Proform piece years ago to make it a 750dp.
I picked up a e85 kit from Rob Mix Services to make the conversion. I also re-plumbed my fuel line from front to back with ½ inch line and installed a new steel mesh filter (compatible with e85). Wednesday I took the car to the track for its first test on the new fuel.

Run #1: Right off the trailer, ran the same as my best ¼ mile time last year….and somehow sitting on the couch all winter makes for GREAT reaction times for the first run of the year, LOL. I accidentally left the line at 2500 RPM, but hey, it liked it.

Run #2: No changes, but my car always picks up a tenth in the 1/8 mile on the second pass…and it did! New PB on EVERYTHING except 60’ time (current best on gas is 1.45)…I left at 2500 RPM again to see if it was a fluke….NOPE! Still pounding the tree :-D.

Run #3: Tried getting to the line with the motor hotter (170°F) and less RPM (2200) on the launch. ET got better, but my RT sucked.

Run #4: Hoping to get a 6.699 in the 1/8 (just to say I did), I upped the primary jet by 2 and tried leaving the line with the engine temp @ 180°F. Tried the same 2200 RPM launch (which is what the car liked on gas, but apparently not on e85) and got another crap light….BUT was shocked to see 6.67 in the 1/8 and 10.54 in the ¼!!!

Run #5: Time for only 1 more run, left everything the same except I brought my launch RPM back up to 2500....and was rewarded with another good light, and backed up my 6.67 :-D.