need some honest opinoins

-

shiifty_dart

Reaction score
I am having a delmia I am a union steward and topped out as far as pay goes I am pretty skilled as a welder I have been fourtnate enough to not have been laid off and being steward has saved me about a $7000 pay cut and feel I almost owe it to the people I represent to stay on the floor but I dont want to do this for forty more years I can go company and start out at about the same as what I am making now with a pension and 401k but there is no job security I am just looking for some insight as to what would be a good option

I can go company and start out at about the same as what I am making now with a pension and 401k but there is no job security

in this economy this is what would make me stay put.

I am having a delmia I am a union steward and topped out as far as pay goes I am pretty skilled as a welder I have been fourtnate enough to not have been laid off and being steward has saved me about a $7000 pay cut and feel I almost owe it to the people I represent to stay on the floor but I dont want to do this for forty more years I can go company and start out at about the same as what I am making now with a pension and 401k but there is no job security I am just looking for some insight as to what would be a good option

Personally I feel there is almost no support for the Unions left. Big Business has all but crushed them. The more we let them erode the unions the easier it will be when they decide we should have no benefits and no job security.

If you like your work why not stay with it? Job security is a good thing, you can have peace of mind, raise a happy family and support your Mopar addiction. Isn't that worth the possibility of being bored sometime in the future?

Just my opinion