No Gas to the Carb When Engine Warms Up

-

Money Pit

Reaction score
I have a stalling problem. I found the problem but I don't know why. I have a 70, 225, with a Holley 1920. I've read many threads on this subject and subitted one myself. I got a lot of great advice. When the engine is cold, the filter (clear plastic) is 3/4 full. After letting the engine idle with the hood open, for 15 min, outside temp about 75 degrees, the level of the fuel in the filter, goes to almost zero. The temp guage is on the first mark. The gas cap is off. I tried to put a foil pan between the engine and the filter. The filter is relatively cool but the gas lines are warm. I'm new to slant six's but not to MOPARs. I had a 340 Cuda with headers and have never had a problem like this. Do I need to insulate the gas lines and get a metal filter? The fuel pump is new and I just adjusted the float level. Is is common to slant six's? Thanks everyone in advance.

Sounds like the fuel pump is giving up as it warms up.

The previous fuel pump did the same thing. The filter is new and checked the pick up today. The tank is new and I drained the tank. I filled it with fresh gas.

Here's a true story...... I had a friend who had a car that he drove everywhere. One day as he was driving along the car started slowing down and finally died. He would have to wait a few minutes then it would start again and run real good but then later on it would start slowing down until it died again. He had a good idea that it was engine was running out of gas but didn't know why. He drove the car like that for months trying different things to fix it, fuel pump, fuel filter, gas cap, carb filter. One day he got really pissed off and pulled the gas tank. He found that someone had stuffed a shop rag down into the tank. The rag would float around until the pick-up sucked it up. Once the engine died the rag would float away and he could drive again. I'm not saying that you have this same problem: