No Replacement for Displacement (myth or fact)

-

Reaction score
I guess I'm challenging the "no replacement for displacement" that everyone likes too throw around, I'm not an expert or anything
my knowledge is mainly through alot of reading about about engines. So far I've just been a Cam, Headers and 4bbl swap kind of guy never built
a full engine until now when I do my 273 build and I'm banking on my theories on "no replacement for displacement" but if I'm wrong I like know
before I spend dollars on my 273. So below is how I understand things which may or may not be true.

Peak power has all to do with air flow (Top End) I'm not saying that engine size does have no effect on HorsePower but it effect is on the powerband and the shape of the curve but not its peak number so much just where it makes it in the powerband.
Torque has all to do with displacement so if you build a 400HP 318/340/360/408 each ones gonna do it at different rpm peaks
but each engine gonna make different amounts of torque at different rpm peaks 318 making the least and 408 making the most so that the 408 makes the same HP and more TQ than the other 3 so the 318/340/360 will always loose to the 408, but that doesn't take in to account the effect that on gears have on torque to the ground. And the other thing I hear alot it takes alot more work to let say make 480hp with a 340 than 410 I don't believe this too be true so i've done a few test on my Dyno and Drag simulators to see how displacement effects power and ET's so I built 3 engines all based on a stock 340 block and bore 4.04, with different strokes 3.31/3.58/4 to get 340/367/410 each engine has the same top end a stock LA eddy's heads, 10:1 CR, Air Gap, 750 Holley, 1 3/4" Headers, Comp cams 20-225-4 284-296 .507-.510.

The results are each engine makes about the same HP but at different peaks as size go's up peak rpm go's down but with torque as size go's up so does torque

340 Red lines 367 Yellow lines 410 Green lines