Order of operations

-

Hallzy

Reaction score
Sorry if my questions seem dumb but i am a total rookie
I am doing a 2bbl to 4bbl swap also cam lifters and timing chain
I am assuming i should do the cam and timing first because i know my two barrel setup is running good and this would probably aid the cam break in if it do the intake and carb at the same time and don't get it right i will probably wreck a lobe or lifter or something is my line of thinking correct? Any advise is much appreciated

Agree . K.I.S.S. Break cam in with 2bbl is ok . I've done it with success. Just as easy is doing it all at once . the difference is gaskets and time . Do not let engine idle during cam break in .

Agree . K.I.S.S. Break cam in with 2bbl is ok . I've done it with success. Just as easy is doing it all at once . the difference is gaskets and time . Do not let engine idle during cam break in .
I'm just worried that if I don't get the carb bang on the first go it could lead to problems on the break-in

this a v8?

personally i'd do it all at once..

gotta pull it all anyway to do the cam. may as well put the 4 bbl on when buttoning it up. only have to rev to 2000 rpm or so durin breakin so i doubt it will be that far out. i'd be more worried about the oil i used to break in the cam..

I would do it all at once as well, but I understand the caution for someone not that familiar with doing it.

this a v8?

personally i'd do it all at once..

gotta pull it all anyway to do the cam. may as well put the 4 bbl on when buttoning it up. only have to rev to 2000 rpm or so durin breakin so i doubt it will be that far out. i'd be more worried about the oil i used to break in the cam..
Yes 318

Oh-Oh

got headers? and duals and a freeflowing exhaust. Do these first, then the 4bbl.
I would leave the cam for some other day. It doesn't take much of a cam increase and the bottom end gets soggy. Then you will need a TC to get over that, and then the little teener will need some rear gears.