Potential sellers, please read this! (warning:Rant inside)

-

shadango

Reaction score
I have to vent a bit, and as a newbie here, I hope y'all (or YUNZ, in Pgh lingo) don't mind. :)

(rant mode ON!!!)

I have been looking for an old Mopar for just a little while now....a few months I guess. I am checking ebay, craigslist, the for sale area here, etc daily, waiting for the right one to come along.

I am willing to travel 3-5 hours to find the right one, but only after doing some screening. I have already gone to look at a couple that were 3 hr drives.

But, in this economy, it is EXPENSIVE to go and see every car in person without doing some pre-screening. Your ad is not the only ad I am looking at.

If someone posts an ad on the internet, I assume that they can and are willing to provide MORE info via the internet.

Why are so many sellers NOT understanding that? Why do so many say "If you are serious, I can send more pictures." or "I have had quite a few inquiries about this car."

They post a 12 word ad on craigslist and then balk about my asking for photos and more info, or insist that we talk on the phone.

Before making a multi-hour road trip to see a car, I would like to see floors, trunk floor, door jambs, under the car, various angles of the body, interior details, etc. Basically stuff that you would look at if looking at a car before you buy it. The more pics the better.

If I stumbled upon a 1970 hemi Cuda that is said to be in good shape for $5,000 I might jump in the car and get there ASAP with only a pic or two. But I am looking at Dusters and such in the $5-8k range and there are a LOT of people who believe that their beater is worth every penny of that. Well, I say, prove it with pictures and a detailed description and I will buy.