Sending unit ground strap on stainless

Fuel and Air Systems

  1. like_A_pike

    like_A_pike Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Location:
    East Texas
    Local Time:
    6:56 AM
    Im finally getting a new tank and lines swapped over to all stainless. I just bent the new sender to match the old one and tested both for resistance. This doesn't work if the meter isn't grounded. Then I remembered not seeing a ground on the old tank when I removed it. The insulator pad was shot so there was plenty of contact between the car and the tank. I figure this is how my gauge was still working. My questions are: how does that strap go on? "Fig 8" in the manual is just about useless. Is it bridging the fuel line around the rubber gas line? Anybody just use a bit of copper? Any trouble getting grounded with stainless lines? Thanks in advance. DW
     
  2. zkx14

    zkx14 Duster De-ruster FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    22,388
    Likes Received:
    15435
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Location:
    South Central PA
    Local Time:
    7:56 AM
    Yes
    Don't think it should make any difference.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Dana67Dart

      Dana67Dart Like a fine wine, only getting better with age! FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      3,117
      Likes Received:
      1708
      Joined:
      Jul 16, 2017
      Location:
      Northern Colorado
      Local Time:
      5:56 AM
      Anything that will ground the sending unit to the chassis will work.

      I think the bridging strap works due to the metal clamps that hold the fuel line to the chassis
       
    • halifaxhops

      halifaxhops It's going to get stupid around here! FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      55,539
      Likes Received:
      23343
      Joined:
      Jan 20, 2014
      Location:
      CENTRURAL, PA
      Local Time:
      7:56 AM
      Should be fine just make sure the strap is tight.
       
    • Blind Squirrel

      Blind Squirrel Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      615
      Likes Received:
      367
      Joined:
      Oct 1, 2015
      Location:
      Pacific NW
      Local Time:
      6:56 AM
      In most cases the sending unit is isolated from the rest of the tank by a gasket. It wont matter how much grounding you do to the tank. There needs to be a ground connection at the sending unit mount (normally a clip attached to the output fuel line of the sending unit) and a clip making connection to the ground of the body of the vehicle (also, normally another clip around the fuel line attached to the vehicle). Between the two clips is a short wire of coarse, and the rubber hose that makes the connection from the tank to the fuel line. So this clips and wire are like a ground jumper. If that all makes sense.
       
    • MoparMike1974

      MoparMike1974 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      1,809
      Likes Received:
      1143
      Joined:
      Jun 16, 2017
      Location:
      Maryland
      Local Time:
      7:56 AM
      Yes and no. The gasket does isolate the back side of the sender from the tank but the lock ring contacts both the tank and sending unit on the front.
      On mine I drilled a 1/4" hole on the corner of the tank. The aftermarket tanks usually have a flange with plenty of material OUTSIDE of the weld. From there I did a braided ground strap to the frame. The original grounding strap does not work well with sending units that have larger output line.
       
    • Blind Squirrel

      Blind Squirrel Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      615
      Likes Received:
      367
      Joined:
      Oct 1, 2015
      Location:
      Pacific NW
      Local Time:
      6:56 AM
      Absolutely agree "it should" but I would ask. Then why did the engineers find the need to fabricate the grounding device attached on each side of the rubber hose @ the metal fuel line. Contact should be complete some where in the mix with the tank straps to the body more efficiently than the flange ring. Heck just through the flow of fuel in the line should make a complete circuit. But then I just pulled a 16hr run again and no sleep maybe I'm missing something. I can learn.
       
    • MoparMike1974

      MoparMike1974 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      1,809
      Likes Received:
      1143
      Joined:
      Jun 16, 2017
      Location:
      Maryland
      Local Time:
      7:56 AM
      Well the tank straps are not a good ground and the top of the tank had the pad on it. I chose to run a ground to the tank itself mainly because I have an in tank pump and wanted the extra safety factor. Either way I would not rely on the factory ground strap.
       
    • Dana67Dart

      Dana67Dart Like a fine wine, only getting better with age! FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      3,117
      Likes Received:
      1708
      Joined:
      Jul 16, 2017
      Location:
      Northern Colorado
      Local Time:
      5:56 AM
      Have to disagree.... The lock ring is in direct contact with the sender and the tank.
       
      Last edited: Jul 21, 2019
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • Blind Squirrel

        Blind Squirrel Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        615
        Likes Received:
        367
        Joined:
        Oct 1, 2015
        Location:
        Pacific NW
        Local Time:
        6:56 AM
        And again, if the engineers thought that was such a great ground. They would have eliminated the need for the 2 clip wire ground that they came up with. $.20 or .30 cents times how many million cars. Profit is profit.
         
      • RedFish

        RedFish Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        23,651
        Likes Received:
        2400
        Joined:
        Sep 5, 2007
        Local Time:
        7:56 AM
        I never put a lot of thought into why the lock ring to sender and tank, then tank contact to hanger straps wasn't sufficient chassis ground path for the fuel sender. The factory engineers discovered it wasn't, but my main reason for never pondering,,, a daisy chain of metal to metal contacts isn't a sufficient ground path anywhere. In a more perfect world the ground path back to batt' negative post would be a negative wire harness very similar to the positive wire harness.
        For fuel sender without a proper fitting factory ground jumper, a length of wire secured under gear screw clamps serves the same.
         
        • Agree Agree x 1
        • like_A_pike

          like_A_pike Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          105
          Likes Received:
          25
          Joined:
          Apr 22, 2011
          Location:
          East Texas
          Local Time:
          6:56 AM
          Thanks all! think Ill buy that strap.
           
        • 67Dart273

          67Dart273 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          40,912
          Likes Received:
          8566
          Joined:
          Oct 14, 2010
          Location:
          Idaho
          Local Time:
          4:56 AM
          I've never liked that grounding scheme. Don't know what your sender "is" but if it is a steel outlet tube, I'd be temped to solder a pigtail ground wire and run it to the body.
           
        • like_A_pike

          like_A_pike Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          105
          Likes Received:
          25
          Joined:
          Apr 22, 2011
          Location:
          East Texas
          Local Time:
          6:56 AM
          I bought the stainless one from classic. It appears you have to use silver solder on stainless and I don't have any idea how conducive that is....
           
        • like_A_pike

          like_A_pike Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          105
          Likes Received:
          25
          Joined:
          Apr 22, 2011
          Location:
          East Texas
          Local Time:
          6:56 AM
          Well what I read suggested silver with acid core flux and I know that you need the rosin core stuff for electric work
           
        • 67Dart273

          67Dart273 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          40,912
          Likes Received:
          8566
          Joined:
          Oct 14, 2010
          Location:
          Idaho
          Local Time:
          4:56 AM
          Are you saying the entire metallic structure of the sending unit is stainless? Then I don't know, other than some sort of clamp
           
        • 69_340_GTS

          69_340_GTS Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          3,679
          Likes Received:
          1574
          Joined:
          Jul 11, 2014
          Location:
          Torrington, CT
          Local Time:
          7:56 AM
          Just clamp the ground wire directly to one of the sending unit tubes, using a hose clamp. Run the other end of the wire to the frame somewhere. No need to do any "iffy" soldering.
           
          • Agree Agree x 1
          • like_A_pike

            like_A_pike Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            105
            Likes Received:
            25
            Joined:
            Apr 22, 2011
            Location:
            East Texas
            Local Time:
            6:56 AM
            Yeah, the catalog stated SS "throughout" it's certainly a fancy looking thing clamped in the vice next to the old one!
             
          • RedFish

            RedFish Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            23,651
            Likes Received:
            2400
            Joined:
            Sep 5, 2007
            Local Time:
            7:56 AM
            You may already know that none of the replacement fuel senders are accurate. They'll show full and empty which is better than a dead sender. Good luck with it.
             
          • like_A_pike

            like_A_pike Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            105
            Likes Received:
            25
            Joined:
            Apr 22, 2011
            Location:
            East Texas
            Local Time:
            6:56 AM
            Yeah, I've gone through a bunch of threads here on the subject and think I have a pretty good strategy... my gauge and sender weren't paired well to start with. I was empty when the gauge said 1/4 tank!!! One reason for the swap over. Anyway, my resistance range is much higher with the new one, I bent the pickup a skosh more, and if that fails, I'll buy one of those "meter match" do-dads! Foolproof No?
             
          • 69_340_GTS

            69_340_GTS Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            3,679
            Likes Received:
            1574
            Joined:
            Jul 11, 2014
            Location:
            Torrington, CT
            Local Time:
            7:56 AM
            Can't trust the gas gauge in most vehicles anyways. What I did was starting with an empty tank, write down what the gauge reads. Add 2 gallons, write down what the gauge reads. Repeat about 7 more times, each time stopping to write down how many gallons are in the tank, and what the gauge reads. Now you have a pretty good reference for gallons vs gauge.

            But I still just take the worst MPG I have seen and keep track of mileage. I get to about 120 miles on a full tank, I know I better fill it up pretty soon.
             
          1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
            By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.