Tearing it down

-

dustermaniac

Reaction score
Well I am tearing down my engine to install a new Camshaft and lifters and Timing Chain and Gears. Cam is a Comp Cam Camshaft, Hydraulic Flat Tappet, Advertised Duration 272/272, Lift .454/.454, Matching Hydraulic lifters, Timing Chain is a double roller Crane Cam Model 69993-1 I have a couple questions-- If I install this setup I have a set of Mopar 360 heads part # 4343475. Heads are stock and have never been machined as far as I can tell. Would I need to change out anything if I decided to use these heads? I will be running an Edelbrock Performer manifold and an Edelbrock 600 CFM Carb, Hooker Comp Headers, Transmission is TCI Streetfighter with a TPI Converter 2500 stall. Would I need to have these heads machined to keep up the compression ratio? And if so, would I need to change out the stock pushrods? Would changing out the stock rockers for roller rockers make a difference? Any help is appreciated in this as I am kind of new at this and am trying to get a decent setup that will be a strong low end torque motor. Would advancing the cam also give me more bang? I posted a couple pics of the teardown as of now. Sorry these are cell phone pics. My camera is DOA.

Attachments

• Jun23_001.jpg
    96.8 KB · Views: 268
  • Jun23_002.jpg
    94 KB · Views: 275
340 Heads are not the originals neither J or X heads. Block is stamped 340. I believe the heads on this block are off a 318. It was this way when I got the car.

Believe there was a guy selling the magnum conversion for less that 250 for everything check it out and put a better head on there!

definetely advance the cam. 4 degrees would give you more bottom end torque and make your car streetable at the same time an offset keyway makes it simple. i prefer torque over HP but both make a sweet combo. good luck