Transmission question

-

Jarred.73dart

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

Just recently bought a 73 dart swinger and I need to replace the transmission on it. I know it might be a dumb question but I'm brand new to the mopar game and I was wondering what transmission I can put in my dart that will fall right into place. (And for as cheap as possible) I'm in so cal so the mechanics out here charge way too much to rebuild it, so I've decide to buy new instead. My question is what options do I have and what other parts I might need. Will I have to swap out my torque converter as well? And will it fit? I have a 318 in the car but not sure what trans is currently in it. Any advice helps.

Hey everyone,

Just recently bought a 73 dart swinger and I need to replace the transmission on it. I know it might be a dumb question but I'm brand new to the mopar game and I was wondering what transmission I can put in my dart that will fall right into place. (And for as cheap as possible) I'm in so cal so the mechanics out here charge way too much to rebuild it, so I've decide to buy new instead. My question is what options do I have and what other parts I might need. Will I have to swap out my torque converter as well? And will it fit? I have a 318 in the car but not sure what trans is currently in it. Any advice helps.
The transmission is most likely a 904 (as opposed to a 727). Any V8 non-lockup 904 from any year should work. As far as the torque converter goes...if the tranny needs replacing it's probably a good bet that the converter needs replacing as well. It's possible to just get the converter flushed but unless it's opened up and inspected you'll never know for sure if it's good or how much longer it will last.

You want a 69 and later. 68 and earlier have a one pin nuetral safety switch which wont work with your wiring harness. The valve body in the trans is different so you cannot just swap out the switch.