1971 Duster 360/727

-

71DusterSwe

Reaction score
Warning for wall of text, if you dont like to read just scroll down :)

Hello, I introduced myself some time ago and was going to make a little project thread about my Duster. Never got that far though and now I came in contact with a guy from Sweden who also hangs out here so I figured it's better late than never.

I am 25 years old and I have some experience in working with cars, rust repair, electrical and such, although I have little to no experience with taking apart or putting together engines.
So this seemed like a great project for me to learn more about that.

Last fall i got to know about a Duster with slant 6 and a 904 trans for sale in Umeå, about 25 swedish miles away from me. At the time I had a 78 Camaro which had been really abused by its previous owner and I still had plenty of work left on it.
I called the guy and he said that a 15 years old boy had called several times but couldnt make up his mind, so I just said that I wanted the car and I went to get it as fast as I could :p

We drove there and it was kinda cold outside, test drove the Duster for maybe 2 minutes, paid and went home. The heater core was not installed until the night before we looked at it, and the seller had just put it in its place with some zip ties. It wasnt really a warm drive home but the car ran great.
Except for the awful smell of ammoniak, cat piss, boiling trans oil maybe? We stopped several times when the smell was too much, but we couldnt find the problem.
Apparently a cable to the voltage regulator had come loose, so it overcharged the battery making it boil. It had also taken over 40 liters of gas, and when we filled it up back home it leaked large amounts out on the ground, through the filler neck.