Are girdles generally added for big rpm or HP or torque

-

maca

Reaction score
G'day all
I'm currently rebuilding my engine and considering fitting a girdle. I've never used one before and the only reason I'm considering putting one in now is because I read on Google that girdles are good for stroked engines. I'm guessing stroked engines produce more torque which means more stress on the crank.
Does anyone know if the girdles are more commonly used in big horsepower engines or big torquer engines or high RPM
Thanks

They are designed to strengthen the bottom end from various twisting forces. They do make the block a bit stronger because it helps tie the mains together. A lot of big horsepower engines use them. Some engine use a bed plate which is about the same idea.

Last edited:
I've tried to read at what power range they are needed but it doesn't say anywhere. So I guess it's whenever I feel it's necessary. As I said I've never needed one in the past ever. But at this power level it would be cheap insurance while the engines.

Unless you go crazy on the HP an ARP stud kit is a lot cheaper. Lighter pistons and rods help too. And a top notch line hone.

Last edited:
As already stated, studs, lightweight components, and quality machine work makes a huge difference.

I've seen quite a few girdles and have a hard time believing that they have any appreciable effect. If someone made a y block conversion that might interest me. One heavy solid piece that bolts to the pan rails and completely encapsulates the crank and mains. Then cross bolted through the main caps like an LS engine. That huge spacer would become the crankcase and except a flat oil pan with a sump.

Now that is an interesting thought.

As already stated, studs, lightweight components, and quality machine work makes a huge difference.