EWIS anyone ?

-

moparmat2000

Reaction score
I work in the airline industry for a living. One of the things we do on the heavy check line (overhaul) is EWIS. "Electrical Wiring & Interconnecting Systems".

This is a cleaning and inspection of the wiring harnesses, and connectors for dirt, corrosion, chafing etc. Anything that can degrade the harnesses and connectors and cause problems.

I am doing EWIS on my 67 cuda dash harness currently, along with mods to install the light package in this car as it was never offered in the 67 cuda.

I am removing the old connector pins from the wires one at a time, and replacing them with new crimped and soldered packard 56 terminals, terminal sockets are getting cleaned, and wiring is getting inspected and rewrapped.

I am saying this because so many look at the components but give little regard to the harnesses themselves that is until something fails with the wiring or a connector. Take the time during your rebuild to look at this stuff and you will likely find something that needs mending.

Hope this helps
Matt

Attachments

• 20150913_213720.jpg
    35.1 KB · Views: 372
  • 20150913_213725.jpg
    26.7 KB · Views: 356
Well done! My bulkhead and connectors were in good shape but I cleaned every socket and spade. It should be done. tmm

These work great! http://www.summitracing.com/parts/i...rGa9gI3MrbFdHkWZ7sulZhdgz2S8gE1a6EaAj_d8P8HAQ

Cool, i didnt know these existed.

Also for the connectors that replacement pins cannot be found like the connectors that fit the instrument panel in the round connector, and in the connector that feeds the steering column, careful unpinning and cleaning are needed, and using a small needle nose plyers they can be tightened up.

Liquid Tarnex or CLR works wonders cleaning up the copper and brass on these making them like new in looks and.conductivity. rinse really good in warm water, dry , and repin.