How/when did you learn what you know??

-

buffoni88

Reaction score
I did a quick search, and didn't see any forum for this yet, so here it goes. When did you start working on cars? Who taught you what you know? I'm 28 years old and just started getting into it, and have been feeling quite overwhelmed, to say the least. I've learned a LOT from these forums, but obviously some of you have been doing this since the pre-internet days. I'll start reading a post, and once I start seeing numbers (ie cam sized, clearance numbers), or words of parts I don't know, it just starts feeling like too much to take in! I absolutely love working on my car, and just fixing things in general. Stories of my father tell me that he was the same way. I work on airplanes for a living, and have been told I'm very good at what I do (troubleshooting fuel problems, quantity issues, pressure problems, fuel leaks...), but I also have a lot of technical course education along with tons of help from fellow coworkers. I've been tempted at times to just sell my car and get one that's already built up, and learn later when I retire from the military. But then again, I hate giving up, and love learning new things. So what's your advice on the best way to effectively learn these monsters?! Any/all input appreciated! By the way, a HUGE thanks to everybody that has contributed to this website, I love coming on here and just cruising the forums reading different posts. The amount of combined knowledge and experience on here is absolutely insane!

I was born with all of this knowledge....

Seriously, we got our first collector car when I was 13. My older brother (by a year and a half) always liked cars and would always talk about them. I picked up alot of info from him. We read all the car mags and mopar mags in high school.