Is It This Bad Elsewhere? How Do People Drive Where You Live?

-

12many

Reaction score
I've been driving since 1982, starting out in the suburbs of Chicago where stoplights and stop signs were endless, cops seemed to be around every corner, you obeyed the laws, exercised caution, and some semblense of etiquette, all the while knowing how to drive aggressively when needed, such as navigating in and out of bumper to bumper city traffic. Moved to South Carolina in 95, and noticed right away some differences in drivers. People sped more, not as many cops around, nastier accidents in general, and yet there seemed to be more courtesy displayed amongst drivers, like "you go, oh no...I insist...you go, well how nice, why thank you" But now, it seems we are one catastrophe, one massive power outage, just one flip of a switch away from a complete breakdown where it becomes anarchy, open season, a free-for-all! These days if a Traffic lights out? Nobody treats it like a stop sign. Everybody keeps on rolling! Red light and your turning right? Just roll right on through! Or going straight? Floor it! Car in front of you doing 5 mph over? Ride his ***, weave back and forth some, even flash your brights. Need a lane to pass? Just cross the double yellow, use the center turn lane! Do what you want! And do all this while holding a phone and texting or surfing the internet! Rules of the road? Where I live and work? Upstate of South Carolina.....Yes, it is a joke. How about where you live? Is it as bad? Worse, getting worse? :steering:

Last edited:
i notice that when i cross the deleware memorial bridge heading south that the driving gets worse and worse as i head further south...