manual valve body shifting?

-

Princess Valiant

A.K.A. Rainy Day Auto
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
ok, so bear with me because I am new to automatics. I have never had a car with an auto that I was intending to keep an auto till now.

the question is: if I put a manual valve body in this 727 it will have the pattern reversed which is ok, but how is that going to play out with a factory console shifter. It clicks when you push it up into the next gear and prevents you from moving down, meaning from d to 2 and 2 to 1 without pushing the little button.

Is there a way to modify a factory console shifter to work with a reverse manual valve body?

I will only use a factory part, I never use aftermarket stuff, I just mention that because I can already hear it LOL

you can get the man valve body in forward or reverse pattern.

there was a guy selling plates for factory shifters to make them more like a race shifter.

why ya going with a man valve body anyway?

unless you are planning on racing this thing I see no reason what so ever for a manual RVB. a trans go shift kit would be more than plenty , although you may not like the hard shifts on the street. my 727 is completely stock minus the 10 inch converter and shifts firm for daily use. my duster had a trans go II kit and it shifted a little too harsh for my liking being a daily driver.

it all depends on what you are using the car for. if it is just a DD, I would start out soft and work your way up if you aren't happy with it. it is easy to upgrade while the trans is in the car.... my $0.02

Is there a way to modify a factory console shifter to work with a reverse manual valve body?

No need Rani, your pattern would just be the opposite. 1st where Drive would be, 2nd where 2nd would be and Drive where 1st would be.